Engagement Chicken

Ha. No. I am not engaged, nor is it on my to do list. But over the weekend 5! FIVE! Five of my friends got engaged!

First of all, I was shocked to learn that I knew that many people, but once I did the math, I learned that basically all but 3 people I know are now married or engaged to be married. I officially need new friends. If you like the Dodgers (or baseball in general) and trying new cocktails and eating amazingly prepared food and cute, old dogs and watching ‘Arrested Development’ even though it’s been off the air for a million years, and you aren’t planning on getting engaged any time soon, (or you are already married and want to feel pity for a single person) holla at me! We could totes be friends!

Enough about me, back to chicken and engagements…

I have been meaning to roast a chicken for a while now, just because I can. I’ve roasted 25 pound turkeys in European-sized ovens, how hard could a 3 pound chicken be… (the correct answer would be sooooo easy!) The original recipe only involved 4 ingredients. Easy peasy. I must admit I did take a few liberties with both the recipe and the chicken. First, I ripped out his heart, then I gave him a bath, then I got him drunk on some cheap plonk, then I spiced things up a little and finally I poured some lemon juice on him.

Anyways, the chicken was amazing. It was super moist and flavorful. I think the onions and garlic really added a lot to the flavor. The recipe might be good without them, but it is definitely better with them. I served it with some garlic-y carrots, Boursin mashed potatoes and green beans.

And on that note, best wishes and congratulations to all the many happy couples I know!

Engagement Chicken (adapted from this recipe)

  • 1 whole chicken (3-5 pounds)
  • 1/2 cup fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • 4 whole lemons (2 for the chicken, 2 for roasting)
  • Kosher salt and black pepper
  • garlic cloves (optional, but highly recommended)
  • white onion (optional, but highly recommended)
  • 1/4 cup & 1/2 cup dry white wine (optional, but highly recommended)
  • 1/2 cup broth (vegetable or chicken)
  • 1 tablespoon floor (I used white rice flour to keep it gluten free)
  • extra virgin olive oil
  1. Preheat oven to 425.Prepare the chicken by removing the giblets and rinsing the chicken inside and out with cold water. Allow to drain for a few minutes legs pointing down. Then pat the outside dry with paper towels
  2. Take 2 of the lemons and poke with a fork 3 times in 3 different places. Place inside chicken. Add about 4-6 garlic cloves if using. Pour 1/4 cup of white wine over the chicken, then brush with olive oil. Liberally salt and pepper the chicken. Place breast side down in a small roasting pan. Pour lemon juice over bottom of chicken. Liberally salt and pepper. Place onions, remaining garlic cloves, and 2 lemons (I would recommend poking them with a for and cutting off the ends so they stand and release more flavors) around the chicken.
  3. Place chicken in oven and reduced heat to 350 degrees and roast the chicken, uncovered, for 15 minutes.
  4. Remove the roasting pan from the oven. Using tongs or two wooden spoons, turn the chicken breast-side up. Roast for about 1 hour to 1 hour and 15 minutes or until the meat thermometer reads 180°F and the juices run clear when the thigh is pricked with a fork. Continue roasting if necessary. (Keep in mind that cooking times vary in different ovens; roasting a chicken at 350°F takes approximately 18 to 20 minutes per pound, plus an additional 15 minutes.)
  5.  Move the chicken to a platter and let the chicken rest for 10 minutes before carving. While the chicken is resting, place roasting pan over medium high heat. Depending on how fatty your chicken skin is or how much olive oil you use, you might need to drain off some of the sauce if it’s too greasy. Once that is done, add in the remaining wine and stir with a whisk or wooden spoon. Make sure to loosen any brown bits stuck to the pan. Add the broth and flour and stir constantly until slightly thickened. (It won’t get as thick as gravy, but same basic concept.) Carve chicken. Place on platter with onions and garlic from the pan. You can serve the sauce on the side in a gravy dish or on top of the carved chicken.
  6. Serve and enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Engagement Chicken

  1. Pingback: Sunday Summary: September 4, 2011 | Clare Cooks!

Leave a comment