Spanakopita Quesadillas

Spanakopita Quesadillas

Back when I was living in Budapest, there was this amazing Greek restaurant that I loved to go to. It was right on Danube and had a wonderful patio during the summer and was nice and cozy in the winter. At the time I was also a pescatarian and trust me when I say it can be a challenge to find tasty vegetarian options in a land full of szalámi and gulyásleves. (I never quite understood where fish in a landlocked country came from, so I either didn’t question it or steered clear completely.) Between good veggie dishes and an excellent wine list, it was one of my favorite places in Bp.

I have really had a hankering for Greek food recently. Unfortunately nearly every dish I could think of involved pita or phyllo… While attempting to make gluten-free phyllo dough sounds like a wonderful challenge, unfortunately I just don’t have the time or patience to attempt it.  Being the resourceful type that I am, I took a look around the kitchen and decided to improvise. I made the executive decision that corn tortillas would make a perfect substitute (might sound strange to some, but corn tortillas are a staple in these parts, plus they are gluten-free and are very handy for holding/transporting food).

Spanakopita quesadillas were the perfect (gluten-free) fix for a Greek craving. Not authentic by any stretch, but the flavors were there and they were so, so, so easy to make. I threw in a few chopped kalamatas for fun and I served up these quesadillas with some delicious tomato pasta sauce (Trader Joe’s Roasted Garlic) and some Greek yogurt mixed with dill and a few spices in an attempt to make a totally illegitimate tzatziki. I do kind of , sort of, like tzatziki, but cucumber in general makes my skin crawl, so plain Greek yogurt and dill, garlic powder, pepper and lemon juice was the perfect compromise.

Spanakopita Quesadillas

Ingredients

  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1 large onion, finely diced
  • 4+ cloves garlic, minced
  • 5 cups baby spinach
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper, freshly ground, or to taste
  • 1 pinch red pepper flakes (optional)
  • 4 corn tortillas
  • 1/2 cup grated mozzarella
  • 1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese
  • 1/4 cup kalamata olives, pitted and chopped
  • cooking spray
  • 1/2 cup prepared pasta sauce
  • 1/2 cup greek yogurt
  • 1 teaspoon dill
  • 1/2 lemon, juiced

Instructions

  1. First make the ‘mock’ tzatziki. Combine Greek yogurt, dill, garlic powder, pepper and lemon juice. Set aside.
  2. Heat oil in large non-stick skillet over medium-high heat. When oil is heated add onion and cooking until translucent and starting to brown, about 6 minutes. Add in minced garlic and cook another minute or two until fragrant. Add oregano, black pepper and red pepper flakes (if using). Stir until mixed.
  3. Next add the baby spinach. Stir to coat and cook until spinach has wilted.
  4. Remove pan from heat and put the spinach mix into a bowl or plate and set aside. Wipe down the pan return to medium heat and spray with cooking spray (you can use a new pan, but why do more dishes?). Place one tortilla in the pan and heat. Flip over when warmed and sprinkle with 1/4 cup mozzarella. Top the cheese with half the spinach mixture, 1/4 cup of the feta and half the olives.
  5. Place another tortilla on top, spray lightly with cooking spray and use a spatula to flip the quesadilla over. Cook until the tortilla is warmed through and slightly crisp, about 3 minutes.
  6. Repeat with the other tortillas to make a second quesadilla.

3 thoughts on “Spanakopita Quesadillas

  1. Ohhh very interesting. I’m half Greek so I obviously totally understand you’re love for Greek cuisine. 😉 (PS. aren’t Greek restaurants the best? They can be pricey- the really good ones… but oh man is it ever worth it!)
    -JulieC

Leave a comment