Thai Turkey Lettuce Wraps

Thai Turkey Lettuce Wraps

I made these wraps a few weeks ago when I was getting over a cold/throat/lack-of-functioning-tastebuds type of thing. Since I had gone for about a week without being able to really taste anything, once I was feeling better I wanted flavor and lots of it. These lettuce wraps did not disappoint. Apart from being super, super fast and easy to throw together, I really liked how the flavors worked together. They all combined to create an amazing dish, but you could still get little hints of the individual flavors in every bite.

As for the lettuce, I would stick to Bibb or large butter lettuce. In these parts it’s usually sold as ‘living’ lettuce with the roots still attached in a little plastic box. Or iceberg. I know iceberg has no nutritional value apart from practically being water, but I love it. It’s got a great crunch to it. The iceberg also helped tame the spice from the turkey. It ended up being a good balance.

Thai Turkey Lettuce Wrap

 

Thai Turkey Lettuce Wraps
Adapted from Tablespoon.

  • 1 1/4 lb ground turkey
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 6 green onions, chopped
  • 4 Tablespoons fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 3 limes, juiced
  • 2 Tablespoons fish sauce
  • 3 Tablespoons peanut butter (I used chunky)
  • 1 Tablespoon garlic and red chile paste (use less if you don’t like spice)
  • 1 cup shredded carrots
  • 1/3 cup chopped salted peanuts (can omit if using chunky peanut butter)
  • 12 medium lettuce (Bibb, Butter or Iceberg) leaves, rinsed, patted dry with paper towel
  1. In large nonstick skillet, cook turkey over medium-high heat. Sprinkle with garlic powder and the juice of one lime. Stir frequently, until thoroughly cooked; drain and return to skillet. Stir in green onions, cilantro, lime juice, fish sauce, peanut butter, and chile paste. Cook 3 to 4 minutes longer or until hot.
  2. To serve, spoon 2 heaping tablespoons turkey mixture, 1 tablespoons carrot and 1 teaspoon peanuts (if using) onto each lettuce leaf; wrap around filling. Serve warm.

5 thoughts on “Thai Turkey Lettuce Wraps

  1. Yum! I love making turkey wraps like this (though I’ve never added peanut butter — going to have to try that!). And it’s the only time I buy iceberg lettuce. I know Bibb is fancier, but sometimes it’s all about the crunch!

Leave a Reply

