Baked Salmon with Garlic & Dijon

Baked Salmon with Garlic & Dijon

I had this post all ready to go for yesterday and then forgot to hit schedule… Oops. I’m back in school again and I’m still trying to figure out a blogging schedule that will work with school, life, and my addled brain. But let’s move on to the salmon now. 

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I don’t like salmon. I love fish, but salmon is generally just too fishy for me. There are of course a few exceptions (I’m looking at you delicious Pesto Salmon). I think I have found another exception!

The main reason I like this recipe is that it is so easy. It’s basically foolproof. And secondly, the flavors! It’s difficult to go wrong with garlic and Dijon. We made this for a luncheon (lunch party? Doesn’t sound as good as dinner party) and ended up doubling the recipe. We had a tons of salmon, two whole fillets. If I was using this much salmon again, I would probably triple the marinade. Even with less salmon, I would still keep the garlic mixture doubled, but I’m a saucy person. We made the salmon ahead of time and served it cold at the lunch. I will admit I did sample a small bit of the salmon when it first came out of the oven and I was in love at first bite. It was just as delicious cold.

Leftover idea! We made two whole fillets and had the smaller one left over. I made an amazing salmon salad for lunch the next day. I took about a quarter of the leftover salmon and mixed it with 1 Tablespoon Dijon, 3 Tablespoons greek yogurt, 1/4 red onion, 3 sprigs fresh dill, a squeeze of lemon juice & salt and pepper. I had it with some crackers.  It was a tasty and super fast lunch.

Baked Salmon with Garlic & Dijon
From Natasha’s Kitchen.

  • 3 pounds salmon (this was wild sockeye salmon)
  • 4 tablespoons fresh parsley, finely chopped
  • 5 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 Tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 cup mild olive oil
  • 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
  • Lemon slices, for garnish
  1. Heat oven to 450°F. Line a rimmed baking sheet with tinfoil and set aside.
  2. In a small bowl, combine all the ingredients except for the salmon and lemon slices. Mix well.
  3. Place salmon skin side down on lined baking sheet.
  4. Generously brush all sides of your salmon with the marinade and top with fresh lemon slices.
  5. Bake at 450°F for 12-15 minutes or until just cooked through.
  6. Cut salmon into pieces and serve with lemon slices.

5 thoughts on “Baked Salmon with Garlic & Dijon

  1. Looks so good! Wild sockeye salmon is my favorite type of salmon at the moment. I gotta show this recipe to my dad who tends to make salmon the same way. He also likes a quick & easy recipe so this would be great for him. The salmon salad idea sounds good too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

