Gluten-Free Salted Caramel Mocha Bundt Cakes

Gluten-Free Salted Caramel Mocha Bundt CakesSo I guess now that Thanksgiving has come and gone here in the States, I guess that means the holiday season is officially upon. I must admit I am a bit of Grinch. Mainly because I think christmas has just gotten far too out of hand. There is only one thing that I absolutely adore about the holiday season and that’s the obscene amount of baking that I can do. It’s the one time of the year that mass quantities of baking are socially acceptable.

I’ve already started thinking of fun and new recipes I can start testing out on my friends and family. It’s great having a willing and able built-in test audience, especially since I’m not too keen on sweets. I light of my mini dessert obsession this recipe seemed like the perfect combination of experiment and great taste. I really wanted to try out my new mini bundt pan (how fun is the word ‘bundt’?). I’m not sure if it was me, the recipe, the oven or the pan, but it was rough going when things came out of the oven. Luckily, after a bit of coaxing, everyone got their act together and cooperated in the end. The salted caramel flavor made this chocolate cake even richer. Add in the frosting and it was one of the sweetest and richest desserts I have ever come across. I decided to sprinkle on a bit of flakey sea salt to enhance the caramel flavor and cut the sweetness just a bit.

Gluten-Free Salted Caramel Mocha Bundt Cakes

Gluten-Free Salted Caramel Mocha Bundt Cakes

For the Cake

    • 2 cups Better Batter all-purpose gluten-free flour
    • ¾ cup unsweetened natural cocoa powder
    • 1¼ teaspoon baking soda
    • ¾ teaspoon kosher salt
    • 1½ cups packed light brown sugar
    • 1 stick unsalted butter, at room temperature
    • ½ cup sour cream, at room temperature
    • 2 extra-large eggs at room temperature, beaten
    • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
    • 1 cups International Delight Salted Caramel Mocha Flavor
For Frosting
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar, sifted
  • 2 Tablespoons International Delight Salted Caramel Mocha Flavor

For the Frosting

    1. Mix powdered sugar with International Delight. Beat with electric mixer on low. If the mixture is too thick for frosting, add in more International Delight. If it is too thin, add in more powdered sugar.
For the Cake
    1. Preheat your oven to 325 degrees F. Grease mini bundt pan or baking pan of choice.
    2. In a large bowl, place the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, salt and brown sugar, and whisk to combine well. Add the butter, sour cream, eggs, vanilla and International Delight, and mix to combine well. The batter will be thickly pourable.
    3. Fill the wells of the pan. about halfway full with batter. Shake from side to side to distribute the batter in an even layer. Place in the center of the preheated oven, and bake until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, about 20 minutes. The cake should be a little spongy, not dense.
    4. Remove the pan from the oven and allow to cool for at least 10 minutes in the pan. Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.
    5. Place one mini cake on a piece of parchment paper, bottom side down. Drizzle a generous amount of frosting on top of the cake.

The International Delight Facebook page shares coupon savings and a chance to share your delight this holiday season.

 

This is a sponsored conversation written by me on behalf of International Delight. The opinions and text are all mine.

3 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Salted Caramel Mocha Bundt Cakes

Leave a Reply

