Zucchini Parmesan

Zucchini Parmesan

The other night at book club my friend Jess brought me the biggest zucchini I have ever seen. They were from her garden and she insisted that they were two of the smaller ones…

Zucchini

I was really tempted to make zucchini pizza again, but I decided to be daring and different and try something new: zucchini parmesan! Chicken parmesan has always been one of my favorite meals, so I was interested in trying it with zucchini. I saw a recipe floating around Pinterest and decided to go for it.

I used a smoked mozzarella (it was on sale, regular mozz was not) and I think it really made the dish. I also used my favorite pasta sauce (Trader Joe’s Roasted Garlic) and had a little on the side for dipping since I thought the topping was a bit dry. Even though the top part was dry, the zucchini part was pretty watery and unfortunately most of the bigger ones seemed to just fall apart on me. If I was to make this again, I think I would stick to smaller zucchini like the original recipe used. I feel like the bigger zucchini got too watery and ended up being more of a mess than it was worth. The smaller circles definitely held together much better.

Zucchini Parmesan

Zucchini Parmesan
Recipe from Gimme Some Oven

  • 2-3 medium or 1 HUGE zucchini, ends trimmed, sliced into 1/3″ discs
  • coarse salt and freshly-cracked black pepper
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour (I used Better Batter)
  • garlic powder
  • onion powder
  • smoked paprika
  • dried thyme
  • dried oregano
  • vegetable or canola oil
  • 2/3 cup of your favorite tomato sauce
  • 1 large ball or block fresh mozzarella (about 4 1/2 ounces)
  • small handful of basil leaves, roughly torn
  • 1 cup freshly-grated Parmesan (about 3 ounces)
  1. Sprinkle slices of zucchini with a small pinch of coarse salt and freshly-cracked black pepper on each side.
  2. Preheat the oven to 350°F.
  3. In a large bowl, lightly dredge the zucchini slices in the flour, tapping them on the side of the bowl to shake off excess flour. Heat 1/4? oil in a large skillet over high heat. When a pinch of flour sizzles on contact, add the zucchini slices in a single layer, turn the heat to medium-high and cook for about one and a half minutes on each side or until dark golden brown. Transfer the zucchini to paper towels to drain. Repeat in batches until all of your zucchini it is cooked, adding more oil as necessary.
  4. In a 13 x 9 baking dish (or oven-proof skillet), arrange as many slices of zucchini as can fit snugly in a single layer. Top each slice with a small spoonful of tomato sauce, a few small pieces of torn mozzarella, a bit of basil and a dusting of parmesan.
  5. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes or until the cheese has melted and begun to turn a golden color. Remove from oven, and garnish with additional torn basil. Serve immediately.

One thought on “Zucchini Parmesan

Leave a Reply

