Slow Cooker Tri-Tip Tacos with Fresh Tomato Salsa

Shredded Tri-Tip Tacos with Fresh Tomato Salsa

So this might be one of the most sacrilegious things I have ever done in the kitchen. I apologize in advance to all tri-tip purists. Tri-tip goes on the barbecue, it’s just a fact. That’s how it’s done. Well, when I decided to cook my tri tip, it was raining out and as much as I love my barbecue, there was no way I was going to stand out in the rain trying to cook this thing. Luckily, I’m an oddly early riser, so I had enough time to improvise and experiment. I figured if people make brisket and corned beef in the crockpot, I could stick a tri tip in there. So I did just that and crossed my fingers.
Tri-tip is a big deal around these parts. I grew up with it so I never knew it wasn’t a thing in other parts of America. It’s from the bottom of a sirloin cut and looks like kind of like a triangle. It’s normally just rubbed with garlic, salt and pepper, then cooked slow and low over the barbecue. You serve it with garlic bread, green salad, sometimes salsa and beans. It’s pretty simple and super delicious. I guess I can thank the rain for forcing me to break the rules on this one and I’m pretty glad I did.

Shredded Tri-Tip Tacos with Fresh Tomato Salsa

Now on to the salsa! This fresh tomato salsa can be found at pretty much any taco shop around here. It’s so simple, yet full of flavor and it goes with just about any Mexican meal. One, note about the jalapeños… Make sure to wash your hands with soap and hot water for like 20 minutes (just kidding, not really…) after touching them and definitely do not touch your eyes and face for a couple hours. Trust me, it’s all fun and games until someone gets jalapeño in the eye. The salsa recipe will make a lot. You will definitely have leftovers, which is great because you can use it on just about anything. Serve it with chips, tortillas, tacos, quesadillas, burritos, tostadas, nachos, eggs, pinto or black beans, eat it with a spoon out of the bowl, go wild.

Shredded Tri-Tip Tacos with Fresh Tomato Salsa

Shredded Tri-Tip Tacos
  • 2 1/2 – 3 1/2 pound. tri-tip roast
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt (omit if tri-tip is already seasoned)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne or chipotle pepper powder
  • 1 can (14 1/2 oz.) diced tomatoes
  • 1 can (8 oz.) tomato sauce
  • 1 can (4 oz.) mild green chilies
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, smashed
  • 2 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tablespoon liquid smoke
  • corn tortillas
  • optional toppings: shredded cheddar cheese, diced fresh tomatoes, dollop sour cream, lettuce, salsa, lime wedges

Fresh Tomato Salsa

  • 3 large sized fresh tomatoes, stems removed, finely diced
  • 1 red onion, finely diced
  • 1-2 jalapeño chili peppers (stems, ribs, seeds removed), finely diced
  • Juice of two limes
  • 1/2 cup chopped cilantro
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  1. Chop the tomatoes. Prepare the chilies (be careful while handling these hot peppers!).  Wash your hands thoroughly with soap and hot water after handling and avoid touching your eyes for several hours. If you like hot salsa, save few of the seeds to add in for heat.
  2. Combine all of the ingredients in a medium sized bowl. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Let sit for at least an hour for the flavors to combine. This salsa gets better with time, so let it marinate a bit.

6 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Tri-Tip Tacos with Fresh Tomato Salsa

  1. Sacrilegious or not, these look fantastic.

    What brand of corn tortillas do you use? I’ve been on the hunt for a good one that doesn’t break too easily.

    • Hi Erika,

      I would recommend cooking it for 8-10 hours on low. The meat will be most tender and flavorful. You could do 4-6 hours on high, but the meat might not be as tender as you like.

      Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

