Apple Coleslaw with Poppyseed Dressing

Apple Coleslaw with Poppyseed Dressing

I first had this coleslaw at a Texas barbecue place in Tokyo. It’s owned by a real, live Texan, so it was pretty much perfect. I had never had ribs or brisket that tasted that good before. But me being the odd person that I am, the thing that I enjoyed most about the meal was the coleslaw. I’ve never really been a fan of coleslaw before, but since I’ve been on this weird brussels sprout/cabbage bender the last few months, I have a new-found appreciation. In my mind, this might be the perfect combination for a coleslaw. Since cabbage is a fairly bland base, you need to jazz it up a bit and the sweetness of the apples and honey and the tart vinegar in the dressing definitely do that.

I will admit, I just bought a bag of already shredded cabbage. It definitely sped up the preparation process. I was also happy to discover that the (little bit of) leftovers kept really well overnight and made for an excellent morning snack. I am already looking forward to making this all summer long.

Apple Coleslaw with Poppyseed Dressing 

  • 1/4 cup cider vinegar
  • 3/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 2 tablespoons poppy seeds
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • 1 medium cabbage, cored, finely shredded or one package of shredded cabbage
  • 2 large carrots, peeled, julienne
  • 1 bunch scallions, thinly sliced
  • 2 Fuji apples, cored and chopped
  1. Prepare the Poppy Seed Dressing. In a medium bowl, combine the first 5 ingredients together until well blended. Set aside.
  2. Prepare the salad. In a large bowl, combine the cabbage, carrots, scallions, and apples. Pour in the dressing and toss until well blended. Refrigerate at 30-60 minutes before serving, mixing the salad at least once to distribute the dressing.

2 thoughts on “Apple Coleslaw with Poppyseed Dressing

Leave a Reply

