Balsamic Strawberry Popsicles

Balsamic Strawberry Popsicles

So this is what started my whole strawberry craze. My friend Amy (hi Amy!) posted on my Facebook about how delicious strawberries and balsamic are. True story. It’s a delicious combination. I remember making a strawberry balsamic dessert in high school and I felt super grown-up and sophisticated. That phase didn’t last long. Amy’s comment made me really crave some kind of strawberry balsamic combination, but I wanted to try something a little different.

These popsicles are super refreshing and so easy to make. I definitely plan on making these a lot over the summer. Next time though, I would change a few things. I would probably either cut back on the sugar or up the balsamic a bit.The strawberries were definitely sweet enough on their own and didn’t need a whole 1/4.  The vinegar flavor was there, but I would have preferred it to stand out a little more.  And the freshly ground pepper… I love pepper, but every now and again I would find myself biting into what I thought was a little strawberry chunk only to be (rudely) surprised by pepper. Definitely make sure your pepper is finely ground.

Balsamic Strawberry Popsicles (from Epicurious)

  • 2 cups sliced, hulled strawberries (from about 1 pound berries)
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons good-quality balsamic vinegar
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  1. Place the strawberries and sugar in a food processor and pulse just until the mixture is finely chopped and juicy but still chunky; you don’t want a smooth purée. Transfer to a bowl and stir in the balsamic vinegar and a few grinds of pepper.
  2. Spoon the mixture into ice pop molds and insert sticks. Freeze until firm, at least 6 hours or up to 1 week.
  3. To unmold the pops, run hot water over the outsides of the molds for a few seconds, then gently pull the sticks.

8 thoughts on “Balsamic Strawberry Popsicles

  1. These sound amazing! I’ve been trying to come up with some fun popsicles…

    Last year I made several batches of Strawberry Balsamic and Black Pepper Jam. It is amazing on well, everything. But my favorite was with a parrano cheese and crackers. I just noticed your black pepper cheese crisps and I think that would be the perfect combination with strawberry-balsamic jam!

Leave a Reply

