Tomato Soup

Tomato Soup

This is my all-time favorite soup. I am 99% certain I could have this everyday and never get sick of it. I’m not too sure where I found the original recipe, it’s just one of those things I’ve made so often, I’m on auto-cook with it.

This soup is so simple and delicious, but it is also super (soup-er?) easy to dress up or add to depending on your mood. In the past I have thrown in basil or used tomatoes with basil/garlic/chilies/anything, add parmesan, blue cheese, goat cheese, ricotta, pesto, hot sauce, chipotles. You can really go wild with it. I’ve also cooked the onions longer so they are caramelized, which is also amazing. Today, I sprinkled some onion garlic goat cheese from the farmers’ market. It’s similar to Boursin, but a million times better. (If you are in Santa Barbara, I would suggest checking out Drake Family Farms stand. On Saturday mornings they are on the first row and I think she is also at the markets on Tuesdays and Fridays)

I should also point out, that this soup is really good cold. I used to make it during the summer I lived in Budapest without air conditioning and eat it like a gazpacho to cool off. It was amazing. It’s really perfect for any time of year.

Tomato Soup
  • olive oil
  • 1-2 large onions, diced
  • 6-8 cloves of garlic, minced (or 12 in my case, they were small, I swear)
  • 2 28 ounce cans of whole tomatoes
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper
  • Optional toppings/mix-ins: parmesan, blue cheese, goat cheese, ricotta, pesto, hot sauce, chipotles, basil
Instructions
  1. In a large, heavy-bottomed pot, saute onion & garlic in olive oil slowly until translucent and soft.
  2. Add tomatoes. With a large wooden spoon, smush the tomatoes against the side of the pot so they ‘pop’. Bring to just below boiling. Reduce heat to low, cover, and allow to simmer for 25-30 minutes to let the soup thicken up.
  3. If you are mixing in any extra ingredients (basil, chipotles, etc.), add in now. With an immersion blender, blend the soup until all the tomatoes are pureed and the soup is has a smooth consistency
  4. Season with salt and pepper. Top with any extra garnishes you are using.
  5. Serve and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

