Cheesy Bean Dip

Bean Dip

I really wanted to make 7 layer dip, but none of the recipes I found were really doing it for me. I decided to just throw what I was in the mood for all together and hope for the best. It worked out perfectly!

I had intended to include guacamole in this dip as well, but only one of my avocados was ripe. I mashed up the avocado with a little Kosher salt and some lime juice and spread it out as best I could. I also decided to dress up my diced tomatoes a bit by making pico de gallo. Simplest salsa ever. Tomatoes, diced white onion, cilantro, lime juice, kosher salt, done. I also like to include a bit of garlic (minced or powder) and freshly ground pepper to make it even tastier.

Bean Dip

Cheesy Bean Dip

  • 2 cans of refried beans
  • 1-4 ounce can of diced chiles
  • 1 cup of shredded cheese, divided (I would recommend sharp cheddar or a Mexican blend)
  • sour cream
  • 1-2 avocados, chopped, or guacamole
  • 2-3 tomatoes, chopped, or pico de gallo
  • 1/2 of a red onion, diced
  • 3-4 green onions, sliced
  • mix of green and black olives, sliced
  1. Preheat oven to 375F/190C. In a small bowl, mix the beans, chiles and 1/2 cup of cheese together. Spread on the bottom of a large baking dish. Bake for 15 minutes. Remove dish from oven and spread remaining cheese over beans. Return to oven and bake for another 5 minutes until cheese on top is melted.
  2. Remove dish from oven and top with remaining ingredients or anything else that makes you happy.
  3. Serve with tortilla chips and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

