Thirsty Thursday: Blood Orange Margaritas

Blood Orange Margarita

I love blood oranges. LOVE. Well more like borderline obsessed. For some reason they are super hard to find around here. When I was living in Budapest, I was going through nearly 2 kilos a week and every other fruit stall in the big market sold them. In Southern California, I have to hunt for them! And they are so expensive here, $4.99 for 3 pounds! They were way cheaper in Budapest.  (Another reason to move back!) I have been looking for blood oranges around here for over 2 months. Every time I have asked at farmers’ market or in grocery stores, they look at me like I am a crazy person. Considering how much citrus is grown in California, I didn’t think blood oranges would be too difficult to acquire, but apparently I am mistaken. I finally found a bag of them last week and promptly set about using them in any way imaginable; margaritas, salads, straight up, but mainly margs. Blood oranges are just meant to be consumed in margarita form.

My love of blood oranges is only rivaled by my love of margaritas. Margaritas trump just about everything in my book. I would totally be more than happy to consume nothing but blood orange margaritas for the rest of my life. That would be the best life ever. You see blood orange margs are superior to most margs. They are sweet and tart and perfect. Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off in search of blood oranges to hoard.

Blood Orange Margaritas

  • 3 ounces blood orange juice
  • 2 ounces fresh lime juice
  • .5 ounce simple syrup (optional)
  • 3 ounces silver tequila
  • 1.5 ounces triple sec

Combine all ingredients in a cocktail shaker over ice. Shake, shake, shake, and then shake a little more. You can rim the serving glass with salt if you feel like it. Strain into a glass filled with ice. Serve and enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Thirsty Thursday: Blood Orange Margaritas

    • I found my first bunch a bigger Albertson’s store (a smaller one near us hasn’t had any) BUT I went to a Fresh & Easy Market the other day and they are selling them 98 cents a pound! It’s about 4 oranges a bag! Our closest one is about 35 minutes away, but I might have to make the drive to stock up on more.

Leave a Reply

