Gluten Free Walnut Bread

Gluten Free Walnut Bread

(Un)Fortunately, my dogs decided that 5.30 am was an appropriate time to wake up yesterday morning. I’m the type of person, that once I’m awake, I am w i d e  awake. So, instead of pretending to try to sleep, I decided to bake. I made bread! I don’t know why, but this felt like a major accomplishment. Maybe because it was my first baking adventure of the new year or maybe because there was kneading and yeast and rising; I had never done any of that before. Part of the sense of accomplishment came from how good this bread was.

The end result was good. Like, real, full of gluten, good. I can eat gluten, Mama CC cannot, and even though I don’t eat gluten often, I am still the official compare-er(?) of ‘real’ bread and gluten-free bread. I couldn’t tell the difference. This bread had a really crunchy crust, which I feel like a lot of gluten-free breads lack. The crust reminded me of the type of loaf you get in bakeries. I definitely cut the bread too soon, it was still very hot, but I was too excited to wait. The bread it self was slightly denser than ‘real’ bread, but much, much lighter than most store-bought gluten-free bread that we’ve tried. Mama CC says it’s the closest thing she has had to real bread since she found out she had Celiac, which I would call a huge endorsement. All around, this recipes was a winner!

I was a little wary of the molasses/sugar that was added to the bread. I was concerned that the bread would turn out really sweet and more dessert like than bread like. I used molasses and you couldn’t even taste it.

I know I just went on and on about how great this gluten free bread is, but if gluten isn’t an issue for you, whole wheat flour would be perfect for this recipe. The end result would be nice and earthy with a nutty walnut touch.

GF Walnut Bread

Gluten Free Walnut Bread (from Tesco Real Food)

  • 1 teaspoon cider vinegar
  • 6 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 320ml (11fl oz) milk
  • 450g (1lb) gluten-free or whole wheat flour (I used Better Batter)
  • 1 teaspoon Kosher salt
  • 2 tablespoons molasses or unrefined dark muscovado sugar
  • 50 grams (2 ounces) walnuts, chopped
  • 2 teaspoons quick yeast/1 instant yeast packet if you are in the US
  1. Beat the vinegar, oil, molasses if you are using it, and eggs into the milk in a jug. Put the flour, salt, sugar if you are using it, and nuts into a bowl, and stir in the yeast. Make a well in the center, and pour in the liquid from the jug. With a dinner knife, combine all the ingredients until you have a sticky dough. Turn out onto a surface you have dusted with gluten-free flour, sprinkle some on the top and knead the dough for about five minutes until it is smooth.
  2. Lightly grease a baking tin, and formt the dough into a rough sausage shape, placing in the tin. Cover with oiled cling film, and leave to rise in a warm place until doubled in size. Meanwhile heat the oven to 425F/220C/Gas mark 7. Bake the loaf for 40-45 minutes. Turn out and cool thoroughly on a rack before slicing.

One thought on “Gluten Free Walnut Bread

Leave a Reply

