Chipotle Chicken & Tomato Soup with Orange & Red Onion Salad

Chipotle Chicken & Tomato Soup

My soup kick is still in full force. I think I’ve found a new favorite. This soup was so fast and easy to make. Open some cans, chop a couple things, let them come to a boil, get out a bowl and a spoon and your soup is ready in less than 20 minutes. I’ve gotten in the habit of cooking extra chicken or turkey to have on hand to add to salads or in this case soup so I always have something quick and easy to make for lunch. Even if you don’t have cooked chicken on hand, it would probably only add about 10 minutes to your cooking time and this soup is definitely worth it. I was tempted to add in some garlic and onion, but dicing and mincing kind of defeated the purpose of a fast meal. The stewed tomatoes I used did have some bell pepper, onion and celery added in, which provided a little extra something (I would give you a brand name, but the were the store’s own brand, but I think they are a pretty common blend). Next time, I would probably throw in some frozen corn as well.

Orange and Red Onion Salad with Red Pepper

As good as the soup was, my favorite part of this meal was the orange and red onion salad. I like onions with pretty much anything, but this combination sounded very peculiar to me. I was shocked by how delicious it was. We are close to a full on obsession. The salt, pepper and cayenne were an amazing combination that made the oranges taste even sweeter. I left the oranges and red onions until after I was done with the soup, and by that time the salt brought out the juice of the oranges so I just skipped adding the original recipe’s olive oil. I’m not a big fan of olive oil as a dipping/dressing unless it’s blended with something else, and I really think it might be kind of strange here. My dash of cayenne, was accidentally a much bigger dash than planned, but it was perfect. I am super tempted to go buy huge bags of oranges and red onions, because this is something I could eat every day.

Chipotle Chicken & Tomato Soup (from Cooking Light via myrecipes.com)

  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 (15.5-ounce) can navy/white beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 (14.5-ounce) can no-salt-added stewed tomatoes
  • 1 (14-ounce) can fat-free, less-sodium vegetable or chicken broth
  • 1 chipotle chile, canned in adobo sauce, finely chopped
  • 2 cups chopped cooked chicken breast (about 1/2 pound)
  • 1 tablespoon extravirgin olive oil
  • 1/2 cup reduced-fat sour cream
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  1. Combine first 5 ingredients in a large saucepan; bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 10 minutes. Partially mash tomatoes and beans with a potato masher.
  2. Stir in chicken; cook 2 minutes or until thoroughly heated. Remove from heat; stir in oil. Place 1 1/4 cups soup in each of four bowls.
  3. Top each serving with 2 tablespoons sour cream and 1 tablespoon cilantro.

Orange & Red Onion Salad (from Cooking Light via myrecipes.com)
(original serves 6| scale to 1 orange for individual serving)

  • 18 (1/4-inch-thick) orange slices (about 4 oranges)
  • 1/2 cup vertically sliced red onion
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground red pepper or chipotle pepper
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil (olive oil)
  1. Arrange orange slices in a single layer on a platter. Top evenly with onion. Sprinkle with salt, black pepper, and red pepper. Drizzle with oil. Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

