Broccoli & Blue Cheese Soup

Broccoli & Blue Cheese Soup

I’m on a bit of soup kick lately. It’s been cold here. Like actually cold, not just cold by Southern California standards. According to my car, it’s even been in the 30s a couple mornings on my way to the gym. That’s cold. Soup is always the perfect solution to cold.

I made this soup in less than 30 minutes for lunch one day and it was great. You could definitely whip this up for a quick lunch or weeknight meal. I ended up using 2 small heads of broccoli since I needed to use them up. Even though there was only a liter of stock in the soup, I found it to be a lot more watery than I thought it would be. I probably should have added another potato to help thicken it up a bit more. I used crumbled gorgonzola and found I had to add a little more to get the flavor across. I really like blue cheese, so I don’t mind if the taste is strong, but if you are iffy on blue I would add and taste as you go. If you aren’t a fan of blue cheese, fear not! You could easily substitute the cheese of your choice (I think sharp cheddar or parmesan  would work really well).

Broccoli & Blue Cheese Soup

Broccoli & Blue Cheese Soup (from BBC Good Food)
Serves 4 | Ready in less than 30 minutes

  • 1 large onion, roughly chopped
  • olive oil
  • 1 potato, peeled and cubed
  •  1 liter/4 cups low-sodium vegetable stock
  • 1 head broccoli (about 300 grams/11 ounces), roughly chopped
  • 100 grams/4 ounces blue cheese, crumbled
  1. Cook the onion in 1 tbsp olive oil in a large pan until soft (about 5 minutes). Add the potato and stock and simmer until the potato is tender (about 10 minutes).
  2. Add the broccoli and cook for 3-4 minutes until just tender but still bright green. Add half the cheese and whizz to a smooth soup in a blender. Season then serve with the rest of the cheese crumbled over.

3 thoughts on “Broccoli & Blue Cheese Soup

Leave a Reply

