Eggs Benedict with Chipotle Hollandaise Sauce

I really like eggs benedict, even though I don’t much care for eggs or bread or Canadian bacon, but nevertheless I really like eggs benedict. It’s usually my go to when it comes to breakfast or brunches out, but I had never made it before. Poaching eggs and hollandaise just seemed like way too much effort. I was totally wrong about that. Poaching eggs and hollandaise sauce could not be easier. Seriously. You could totally make this for breakfast right now and it would be ready in about 15 minutes. Do it.

Hollandaise sauce was always some big mystery to me. I assumed it would be super complicated to make, but I was most pleasantly mistaken; it seriously could not be easier. Now, if I had my way chipotle would be in every where, in everything, all the time. It would be good. This hollandaise is not just good, it’s great. It really needs to become part of your life as soon as possible.

I ended up using Trader Joe’s Gluten Free Multigrain Bread instead of english muffins because the super expensive ones I got at Whole Foods went moldy within 2 days of buying them (still a little annoyed about that…), but the bread totally worked. I also served this with some delicious home fries. It made for the perfect breakfast.

Eggs Benedict with Chipotle Hollandaise (adapted from Cassie Craves)
Serves 2

  • 2 English muffins or 4 slices of toast
  • 8 slices bacon
  • 1 avocado
  • Juice of half a lime
  • Salt and pepper
  • 4 eggs
  • Chipotle hollandaise sauce (recipe follows)
  1. Heat a sauce pan with 2 inches of water to a simmer.
  2. Split the English muffins in half and toast until browned.
  3. Cook the bacon to a crisp and set aside.
  4. Cut the avocado in half, remove the pit, and scoop the flesh into a bowl. Add a pinch of salt and lime juice and mash with a fork.
  5. Spread the avocado over the toasted English muffin halves and top with the bacon.
  6. Crack 1 egg at a time into a separate small bowl or cup. Stir the simmering water with a spoon and gently pour the egg into the swirling water. Repeat with additional eggs.
  7. Cook the eggs for 2 1/2 minutes, until the whites are cooked through. Remove with a slotted spoon and let drain for a minute before placing on top of the bacon. Season each egg with salt and pepper, and top each serving with chipotle hollandaise.
Chipotle Hollandaise
  • 2 egg yolks
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 tablespoon chipotle in adobo puree
  • 1 stick of butter, melted
  1. lace egg yolks, lime, salt, chipotle and adobo sauce in the blender. Blend for 30 seconds before streaming in the melted butter. Serve immediately.

3 thoughts on “Eggs Benedict with Chipotle Hollandaise Sauce

  1. I found your blog on the Tag Surfer section of WordPress. After reading this post, I wanted to jump up and make Eggs Benedict. I reviewed the ingredients and realized I didn’t have everything I needed. I was so deflated. But now I am planning a trip to the grocery store to be sure I have everything and make it this next week.

    Thanks for your enthusiasm. I too LOVE Eggs Benedict and normally only eat it when I get breakfast out. I am ready to make it a breakfast at home. Great blog!

Leave a Reply

