Thirsty Thursday: Blood Bath Punch

So, I’m not too sure when Halloween became such a ‘thing’ in the US. I’m going to say it was when I was somewhere in the wilds of Eastern Europe. Halloween is not a ‘thing’ there. It was nice.

It’s not so much that I dislike Halloween. Trust me, I’m down with just about an excuse to get dressed up and throw a party, but things have gotten out of hand here. It’s more that I don’t really like Halloween being such a ‘thing’. It makes me a bit uncomfortable. The Christmas season is bad enough, Halloween does not need to compete with its own.

I saw my first Halloween ‘card’ on sale back in August. I rolled my eyes so hard it hurt. When the hell did it become a card sending holiday? Cards should be strictly limited to birthdays and only when containing said birthday’s present. Cards are totally unnecessary, especially for Halloween. I  was also rather perturbed by discovering that there is such a thing as Halloween lights. For serious? I was also more disturbed by the fact that people buy Halloween lights, but apparently they do.

Why can’t people get way into better holidays? Thanksgiving? 4th of July? Arbor Day? Winston Churchill Day? There are so many other holidays to get behind, people really should expand their options.

All that being said, I decided the best way to deal with this holiday, and any other awkward holiday, is to make a delicious cocktail and just deal with it.

Blood Bath Punch (from myrecipes.com)

  • 3 oranges
  • 1 bottle cranberry juice cocktail
  • 1 quart chilled orange juice
  • 1 cup chilled vodka
  • 1/2 cup triple sec
  • 3 tablespoons fresh lime juice
  1. Cut 3 oranges into 1/2-inch wedges; freeze. (Try blood oranges!) In a large pitcher or punch bowl, mix 1 (64 oz.) bottle cranberry juice cocktail, 1 quart chilled orange juice, 1 cup chilled vodka, 1/2 cup triple sec and 3 Tbsp. fresh lime juice. Serve with frozen orange wedges.

2 thoughts on “Thirsty Thursday: Blood Bath Punch

  1. Pingback: Sunday Summary: October 30, 2011 | Clare Cooks!

  2. Pingback: Sunday Summary: October 30, 2011 | Clare Cooks!

Leave a Reply

