Thirsty Thursday: Homemade Pumpkin Spice Latte

So, I’ve never had a Pumpkin Spice Latte, which apparently means my life is not complete. There are several reasons for this, mainly I don’t like pumpkin or sweet coffee drinks or Starbucks (Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf is better. That’s just a fact.) and pumpkin flavored things are just not that popular in the various parts of the world I have found myself over the last few autumns.

I set about righting this apparent problem by making my own pumpkin spice latte at home. I made my own pumpkin pie spice.  I followed this recipe from The Kitchn. All the comments, even the title of the article claimed it tasted just like Starbucks. Seemed like a pretty safe bet.

I have to admit I was definitely less than impressed. It just tasted like cinnamon-y milk with a vague coffee aftertaste. No pumpkin and despite the 2 tablespoons of sugar and 2 tablespoons of vanilla, no real sweetness either. The end result was just kinda meh. Maybe if pumpkin lattes are more your ‘thing’, you might enjoy this a little more than I did, but I was a bit let down.

Pumpkin Spice Latte

  • 2 cups milk
  • 2 tablespoons canned pumpkin
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 tablespoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1-2 shots espresso (about 1/4 cup of espresso or 1/2 cup of strong brewed coffee)

In a saucepan combine milk, pumpkin and sugar and cook on medium heat, stirring, until steaming. Remove from heat, stir in vanilla and spice, transfer to a blender and process for 15 seconds until foamy. If you don’t have a blender, don’t worry about it – just whisk the mixture really well with a wire whisk.

Pour into a large mug or two mugs. Add the espresso on top.

Optional: Top with whipped cream and sprinkle pumpkin pie spice, nutmeg, or cinnamon on top.

3 thoughts on “Thirsty Thursday: Homemade Pumpkin Spice Latte

  1. Pingback: Sunday Summary: October 2, 2011 | Clare Cooks!

  2. Pingback: Pumpkin Pie Bars | Clare Cooks!

Leave a Reply

