Spicy Tomato & Blue Cheese Soup

When I first saw the recipe for this soup I was a little taken aback. It’s as if someone knew my deepest, darkest desires and put them in soup form. Okay, so I might be a little strange if my deepest, darkest desires are comprised of tomatoes, spice, garlic and blue cheese, but I know what I like. Seriously, this soup is the thing dreams are made of. At least my strange and twisted dreams. Delicious.

I adapted heavily from the original, mainly because we didn’t have some things on hand. Don’t be shy to modify! Make the recipe work for you. I used gorgonzola crumbles from Trader Joe’s, not the ‘fancy’ blue called for in the original. I used fat-free half and half instead of heavy cream, just because that’s what we had. Same with the dried oregano. Still turned out to be delicious.

Spicy Tomato & Blue Cheese Soup (adapted from this Amateur Gourmet recipe)

  • 2 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 red onion, finely diced
  • Kosher salt
  • 6 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 28-oz can San Marzano tomatoes, with their juice
  • 1 1/2 cups low sodium vegetable stock
  • 3/4 cups heavy cream, half and half, or milk
  • 2 tablespoons sriracha sauce (I recommend the garlic chili version)
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano OR 1 tablespoon fresh oregano
  • 1/2 cup crumbled blue cheese & a bit more for serving on top
  1. Heat olive oil in a pot over medium heat. Add onions and a pinch of salt, allow to cook for 2 minutes. Add garlic, cook 2 more minutes. Add the whole can of tomatoes and the stock and bring to a simmer. (I added a little more salt here too). Lower the heat to low and add the cream, sriracha sauce, and oregano and simmer for 45 minutes.
  2. Add blue cheese and blend the soup. You can do this either in a blender or with a hand blender. I like my soup to have a little bit of character, so I don’t blend it too, too much.
  3. Put soup into bowls, sprinkle with blue cheese crumbles, serve and enjoy!

One thought on “Spicy Tomato & Blue Cheese Soup

  1. Pingback: Sunday Summary: September 25, 2011 | Clare Cooks!

Leave a Reply

