Easy Masala Chai

I love chai. Love it. But not the gross stuff you get at a coffeeshop. If you have never had homemade chai, get on it. It will change your life. Slightly sweet, slightly peppery; it’s love in a mug mason jar.

The first time I had chai was in India from a roadside stall that we were told to avoid, well we were specifically told to avoid all dairy, but when in India… and armed with cipro, dairy wasn’t even an issue. There is something about the dairy in India that was way better than the dairy I’ve had anywhere else. The chai was better, the lassis were better, the ice cream was out of this world.

Honestly though, the best benefit of homemade chai, is the fact that your house will smell amazing.

Chai is traditionally served warm, but if you know me in real life, you probably also know that I a slight major OCD problem about drink temperature. It’s just one of those things. I hate hot drinks, I hate warm drinks, I hate room temperature drinks, I hate any drink that is not ice cold. Even when I lived in Budapest, in the middle of winter, everything still had to be iced (the only exception I made was for the forralt bor (mulled wine), but that’s totally different). And that is why my chai is iced and in a mason jar. Plus, everything tastes better out of a mason jar.

Next time I make this, I will definitely double the amounts of everything. We only got enough for a small mug for Mama CC to try and one round of my mason jar.

Easy Masala Chai (adapted from At Home with Madhur Jaffrey, p. 263)

  • 1/16 teaspoon cinnamon powder
  • 1/16 teaspoon clove powder
  • 1/16 teaspoon ginger powder
  • 5-6 generous grinds of the pepper grinder
  • 3 bags of good, unflavored black tea
  • 2 cups of milk (I used Trader Joe’s Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk)
  • 4 teaspoons sugar
  1. Put 3 cups water in a pan. Add the cinnamon, clove, ginger, pepper and tea bags. Bring to a boil. Cover, turn heat to very, very low, and simmer gently for 10 minutes. Add the mild and sugar. Stir and bring to a simmer. Pour through a fine strainer and serve.

14 thoughts on “Easy Masala Chai

  1. Pingback: Sunday Summary: September 18, 2011 | Clare Cooks!

  2. If you think everything tastes better in a mason jar, check out Sassy Southern Stemware, you will flip out when you see what she has come up with!

  3. I love homemade spicy chia from masala! In the winter I can often be found stirring up a whole pot. I too enjoy it iced, but for me my morning is not complete till I have a good warm cup of chia.
    Here’s a little tip:
    If you happen to be traveling and really want a chia and only have a coffee shop to chose from ask if they have a spiced tea and get them to steam your milk and sugar into the infused tea, then hit up the condiments bar for all the extra goodies, cinnamon, black pepper, nut meg, and a little vanilla if you like or ask them to throw all that into the steam. You can save bookoodles of money just switching to tea over latte.

  4. I stumbled upon your blog looking for mason jars. This is a good recipe for chai, but it tastes better with regular milk. Add a little freshly crushed ginger and a few mint leaves for the authentic Indian roadside feel!

Leave a Reply

