Thirsty Thursday: The Americano

It’s my best friend Nancy’s birthday today. And we’re celebrating!

Except she’s in Italy. And I am in California. It has become a habit of our’s to never be in the same country when it’s either of our birthdays… We’re working on it.

Since Nancy’s in Italy, I decided an Italian cocktail would only be appropriate for today’s edition of Thirsty Thursday. I wanted to be a little more adventurous than your standard bellini or spumante. In retrospect, sometimes it’s okay to stick to the well known things…

I decided to try an Americano cocktail. The cocktail itself is simple enough. Campari, sweet vermouth and soda water. If anyone has ever been to Hungary and tasted Unicum or even Jägermeister, that’s what Campari reminds me of. It has a very bitter, herbal flavor to it. The pretty orange color definitely threw me off when it came to the flavor. I took my first sip and once I threw up once I stopped gagging once I got over the initial Unicum-ness of the flavor (trust me, if you’ve lived in Hungary, you probably have some deeply seeded issues revolving around herbal liqueurs), I realized it wasn’t too horrible. I found the key to enjoying the Americano is squeezing the orange wedge into the drink. Definitely improved the flavor.

The Americano
makes 1 cocktail

  • 1 1/2 ounces Campari
  • 1 1/2 ounces sweet vermouth
  • Club soda or seltzer
  • Orange slice for garnish

Fill up an old-fashioned tumbler with ice. You can also water this down a bit more and use a highball.

Pour the Campari and vermouth over the ice and top up with seltzer. Try not to gag.

2 thoughts on “Thirsty Thursday: The Americano

  1. Pingback: Sunday Summary: August 28, 2011 « Clare Cooks!

Leave a Reply

