Stir-Fried Tofu with Scallions

I’ve always had a very strained relationship with tofu. It’s kind of weird. It doesn’t really taste like anything. And if it’s not prepared properly the texture… ugh. I have found a few ways that have made tofu palatable, like this amazing crispy tofu recipe (but then again what isn’t amazing when it’s crispy?). Apart from crispy tofu, the only tofu dish I’ve found tolerable is tofu parmesan (but, again, what isn’t amazing when it is covered in cheese and tomato sauce?). That is until now!

I found this recipe on Mark Bittman’s blog. It’s from his book How to Cook Everything Vegetarian, which also happens to be one of my favorite cookbooks. It was probably one of the simplest and fastest lunches I’ve made recently and something I’m already looking forward to having again.

The tofu really absorbed the flavor of the garlic and tamari. I also let the garlic and whites of the green onions cook a little longer before adding the tofu. I think this really helped improve the flavor a lot. I cooked this in a wok, but I think the next time I try it I will use a regular skillet since I think the tofu has a chance of getting a little crispier. The liquid in the wok just wouldn’t cook off enough to let the tofu crisp up the way I would have liked.

Stir-Fried Tofu with Scallions (adapted from this recipe)

  • 1 package extra-firm tofu, blotted dry
  • 3 tablespoons peanut oil or neutral oil (I used grapeseed)
  • 1 tablespoon garlic, chopped
  • 1 scallions, trimmed and chopped, white and green parts separated
  • 1/3 cup vegetable stock
  • 2 tablespoons gluten free tamari (or soy sauce)
  • 1 tablespoon toasted sesame seeds

Cut the tofu into 1/2-inch cubes. Put the oil in a large skillet or wok, preferably nonstick, over high heat. When hot, add the garlic. Cook for about a minute. Add the tofu and the white parts of the scallions; cook, stirring occasionally, until the tofu begins to brown, a couple of minutes. Add the stock and cook, stirring, until about half of it evaporates; add the green parts of the scallions and stir for about 30 seconds. Add the soy sauce, stir, and remove from heat. Serve and enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Stir-Fried Tofu with Scallions

    • In my experience, tofu just seems to absorb the flavors it’s cooked with, so it makes a really good base in a dish like a stir-fry or even grilled if you marinade it.

  1. Pingback: Asian Mushroom Sauté | Clare Cooks!

  2. Pingback: Asian Mushroom Sauté | Clare Cooks!

Leave a Reply

