Cheese! It’s What’s for Dinner.

So, last night, at dinner time, I was totally, 100,000% over cooking. Cooking is my all-time, most favorite thing in the world, but don’t get me wrong, sometimes, I’m just over it. It’s lame. It’s a lot of work. Last night was one of those nights. What does one eat when they don’t want to cook? Cheese… duh.

I might have a casein ‘allergy’, but let’s be real, they will be prying cheese from my cold dead hands… I actually have a friend who doesn’t like cheese, and I must admit, ever since I learned that about him, I have been actively judging him just ever so slightly, (hey, Al!), because who doesn’t like cheese!?!! Crazy people, obviously…

 

I lucked out this week, with the fact that I had my first visit to Fresh & Easy ! UGH. Fresh & Easy was UH-mazing! AMAZING! I was totally into it and Santa Barbara is totally meant to get one, but Santa Barbara likes to give any company that feels the need to open here an es-load problems because Santa Barbara is totally lame (ie, Target… I don’t want to talk about it, it’s still hurts).

If you have ever lived in the UK or Ireland, Fresh & Easy totally reminds me of TESCO! My friend, Lauren told me this after her first visit there last year, and I have been very excited about it every since. And Lauren was totally right. It’s really hard to describe what a British grocery store is like, until you have actually experienced it, but just trust me when I say it’s amazing. (Oh, hey, Waitrose, I miss you, like super hardcore…)

Anyways, I probably should digress back to my original point of cheese… (Let’s all just accept the fact I love cheese and I like good grocery stores, despite location, and it will make all our lives a lot easier… Ummkkk? Yes. Agreed.) Cheese. Yum.

 

So at Fresh & Easy, I was actually quite impressed by the quality of the cheese selection they had in a grocery store. Far superior to most other standard grocery chains in these parts.  I picked up 3 different cheese at Fresh & Easy. Shaft’s Blue Vein Cheese, Drunken Goat Cheese (one of my fav’s! Go buy some now!) and Fresh & Easy’s own brand of Goat Cheese with Garlic and Herbs. We also had some Boursin laying around, so I threw some of that on there as well.

The Blue Vein Cheese was very rich and creamy and had a nice bite to it. Drunken Goat Cheese is always good. It’s both mild and rich at the same time. It’s got a very smooth taste, but is also creamy. The soft goat cheese was tangy and garlicy and you just can’t go wrong with that.

It was the perfect dinner no-work dinner!

Leave a Reply

