Berry, Gorgonzola and Pecan Salad

This past winter was the first actual winter we’ve had in Southern California in a long time. There was rain, it was cold, just awful stuff. But as a result of all the rain, this spring’s and summer’s produce have been off the chain (yes, you read that right). The berry crops in particular have been quite amazing.

Yesterday, I was in a hurry for a quick lunch fix and when I looked in the fridge, I found the 4 ingredients needed to make one of my favorite salads. Berries, gorg, pecans, lettuce, and my meal was planned for me. There’s jus something about the sweet, salty, crunchy, blue cheesiness of this salad that makes it amazing.

This salad is so easy to make and you can add in pretty much an fruit that strikes your fancy. It’s also pretty good with some pears or grapes thrown into the mix. You could also substitute the gorgonzola for something like feta, if blue cheese isn’t your thing. I just happen to like my cheese super blue and super stinky. I topped mine with a delicious French Vinaigrette that I actually made last week for another salad, but the recipe is pretty big, so I had tons of dressing left over.

Berry, Gorgonzola and Pecan Salad

  • Mixed Berries (raspberries, strawberries, blackberries, etc.)
  • Gorgonzola (or feta)
  • Pecans (or almonds work well)
  • Mixed Greens
  • Salad dressing (I recommend some kind of vinaigrette)
Combine first 4 ingredients. Top with dressing and serve.

French Dressing

  • ½ pint sunflower oil
  • ½ pint olive oil
  • ½ pint red wine vinegar
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 3 tablespoons grainy mustard
  • 2 tablespoons honey

Place all ingredients in blender and blend until smooth.  Will keep in refrigerator for several weeks.  Shake well before serving.

2 thoughts on “Berry, Gorgonzola and Pecan Salad

  1. Pingback: Sunday Summary June 19, 2011 « Clare Cooks!

Leave a Reply

