Thirsty Thursday: Moscow Mule

This week’s installment of Thirsty Thursday brings us the Moscow Mule!

I had never really heard of a Moscow Mule, until the other week when there was an article on Serious Eats about it. I’m not really a big vodka fan and I had never had ginger beer before, but for some reason, this really appealed to me. Maybe it was the lime… I do have a major thing for lime. I also found the Russian/Cold War marketing of the drink very amusing.

This is the perfect drink for a summer evening and it could not be simpler to make.

 

Moscow Mule

  • 2 ounces vodka
  • 4-6 ounces ginger beer
  • 1/2 of a lime
  • ice
Juice the lime and combine with vodka over ice, pour in ginger beer. Serve and enjoy! Easy, peasy lemon squeezy, well lime squeezy, but you know what I mean!
[Update! I probably should have mentioned where you can find ginger beer, because it is NOT ginger ale (even though I’m sure it could be substituted in a pinch). I got my ginger beer at Cost Plus World Market. A 4-pack was on sale for 4 bucks. I am fairly certain BevMo would carry it as well.]

 

3 thoughts on “Thirsty Thursday: Moscow Mule

  1. Moscow Mule!! haha what a great name and it looks like a delicious cocktail! I have never tried or seen ginger beer – can you get it at most retailers? (BevMo maybe?)

    • Ah. Good question. I got my ginger beer at Cost Plus World Market. It was on sale for 4 bucks.

      I’ve been on the look out for ginger beer since I made these and the only other place I’ve seen them was at a health food store. I’m certain BevMo would have it too.

  2. Pingback: Sunday Summary June 19, 2011 « Clare Cooks!

Leave a Reply

