Gluten-Free Southwestern Pizza

Most of today was spent preparing stuff for tomorrow’s super amazing barbecue (Brace yourselves. That’s all I have to say.) and watching reruns of 48 Hours Mystery. I was clearly super busy. So, tonight for dinner I wanted to make something fast and simple. Earlier in the week I was perusing The Kitchn and as always their Weeknight Recipe section had exactly the type of thing I was looking for.

This recipe for the Southwestern Pizza won out in the end. I reminded me a lot of the Tostada Pizza from CPK. The black bean mixture of beans, chili powder, cumin, olive oil and chipotle (I added some garlic powder for good measure) was good enough to eat alone. I definitely foresee these beans being involved in several meals in my future. It’s a good thing. I made the pizza with a gluten-free crust so I could share left overs, and that was a good plan because after a slice and a bit I was stuffed. Every bite was absolutely delicious. I also added some Chipotle Tabasco sauce to my slices for a little extra flava. Yum.

 

The gluten-free crust, wasn’t amazing, but it turned out to be a really good balance to the heavy toppings. Next time I would definitely add more garlic powder and probably a pinch of salt and pepper to the mix to give it a little more taste.

Gluten-Free Pizza Crust

  • 1.5 Cups Bob’s Red Mill All-Purpose Gluten Free Baking Mix
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/2 Cup water
  • 1/3 Cup oil
  • 2 eggs
Preheat oven to 425. Mix all ingredients together and place on prepared cookie sheet or pizza stone. Bake for 10-12 minutes. Remove from oven and cover with toppings of choice. Bake as usual.

2 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Southwestern Pizza

  1. Pingback: Sunday Summary! May 29, 2011 « Clare Cooks!

Leave a Reply

