Gluten-Free Fish Tacos and some Caesar Salad too!

Tacos! Tacos! Tacos!

It’s no secret I LOVE Mexican food. Today when I was at the grocery store there was some really nice looking snapper on sale (you would think that 13 years of Catholic school would have clued me into the fact that it’s Lent, but since I’m a little slow on the uptake and majorly lapsed on the Catholic part, I totally didn’t get why all the fish was so cheap). I originally intended to a nice civilized meal of the snapper with polenta and asparagus, but that quickly went out the window courtesy of a friend’s facebook status. She made fish tacos for dinner, why couldn’t I make fish tacos for dinner!?

I rinsed the fish and let it marinade for about 40 minutes in a really, really simple marinade. I really wanted to grill it, but I was hungry and wanted to eat before 10pm, so I was not in the mood to clean off the grill (it hasn’t been used yet this year… sad.), so I cooked it up in the pan. I also crisped up some corn tortillas in a tiny bit of vegetable oil in another pan. I made them flat more like tostadas than taco shells, let them drain and cool for a few minutes on a paper towel and then I topped them with the fish, salsa, cheese, lettuce and some other good fixin’s. I also made a delicious ‘southwestern’ casear salad with tomato and green onion. SUCH a good meal. This will definitely be entering the regular rotation.

Fish Taco Marinade

  • Juice of 1 large lime
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 1/4 c. vegetable oil
  • 4 generous shakes of chili or chipotle powder
  • 1 generous shake of smoked paprika
  • Goya Adobo seasoning*

Mix lime, lemon oil and spices and mix with prepared fish. Cover with cling wrap and allow to marinade for at least 30 minutes. Cook on grill or in pan. Serve and enjoy!

* – Goya Adobo seasoning is a relatively new discovery for me and I’m obsessed with it. It’s basically garlic salt with some more Mexican flavorings. I’ve been using it instead of salt that’s called for in a lot of recipes and it’s great on roasted corn or popcorn as well.

Southwest Caesar Salad Dressing

Inspired by this All Recipes Caesar Salad Supreme Recipe

  • 6-10 cloves garlic, peeled and minced
  • 3/4 c. mayo
  • 2 tbsp. parmesan cheese, grated
  • 1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tsp. Dijon mustard
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 1 1/2 tsp. chipotle or chili powder
  • black pepper to taste

Combine all ingredients either in small food processor or tupperware box (I put them all in a small tupperware box and just shake, shake, shake) and then refrigerate until ready to use.

5 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Fish Tacos and some Caesar Salad too!

  1. This sounds great. I love adobo sauce too. I did a post using it in a salad dressing recently. But I put it in many things. I may try your recipe but will probably sub something a bit healthier for the mayo, maybe veganaise.

    • I’ve made it with greek yogurt a couple times too. Just as good. If you like lime/lemon juice, use more juice and then you don’t need quite as much of the ‘bad’ stuff, you still get the taste but with a little more tanginess.

  2. My uncle loves Goya Adobo. He was singing some made up song about it lol… This looks totally mouth-watering though… I’m definitely going to be making one of these soon =).

    But a cheese sandwich will do for now lol.

    • I’m so glad you found my blog! I’m not 100% gluten-free 100% of the time. I live with someone who has Celiac (and I do most of the cooking) so nearly everything I make is GF or very easily adaptable. Hope you find some recipes you like!

Leave a Reply

