Tofu Parmesan-ish

In a desperate attempt to use up my tofu from Costco (so much tofu…) before it went off, I’ve been trying to get creative with it. I must confess that I actually don’t really care for tofu too much, but I’m also trying to move away from overly processed sources of protein (ie, most frozen veggie burgers), so I’m trying to learn to like it. I made crispy tofu the other day, which made for a delicious appetizer, but it’s not something you can eat every day.

Enter tofu parmesan-ish! Part overhaul of one of my favorite childhood meals, part not going to the grocery store and having to be creative with the pantry, and all in all a good meal, tofu parmesan-ish was born. I didn’t actually set about making this dish the way it turned out. I was trying to make a tofu dish I used to get at the cafeteria at my old internship (tofu, tomato, onion, cheese, baked together), but when I was putting it together I thought it was looking a bit white.

I looked in the cupboard to see if I could find anything to liven things up a bit. Luckily, I had my favorite pasta sauce (Trader Joe’s Roasted Garlic. Yum.) and some olives and capers on hand. I added them to my tofu and stuck them in the oven. Certainly not groundbreaking on the recipe, but very delicious nevertheless. And it’s easily scaleable for a crowed (or using up mass quantities of tofu).

Tofu Parmesan

  • Extra-firm tofu, drained, pressed and sliced lengthwise down the middle
  • 1 jar of (red) pasta sauce
  • 1 tomato, sliced
  • 1 onion, sliced thin
  • 1/2 cup shredded mozzarella
  • 1/2 cup parmesan
  • 1/4 cup kalamatas, chopped
  • 1/4 cup capers, drained and rinsed

Pre-heat oven to 350. Prepare tofu. Slice onion and tomato. In a baking dish, layer the tofu with onion and tomato on top. Add Cheese if wanted. Add tomato sauce, kalamatas and capers. Top with cheese. Bake for 25-35 minutes or until the cheese is melted and lightly browned. Serve and enjoy!

 

I also made some UH-mazing asparagus to go with the tofu, but the tofu took a lot longer to bake than I originally anticipated, so we inadvertently ate in courses. I have a feeling that this asparagus is going to become a new favorite in these parts. So just try to imagine the two together…

 

One thought on “Tofu Parmesan-ish

  1. Pingback: Stir-Fried Tofu with Scallions « Clare Cooks!

Leave a Reply

