Macarons: The Test Run

When I was back visiting Budapest a couple of weeks ago, my friend Amy set about making macarons for the first time. I was fascinated. I’d never had a macaron before, so I had no idea what was entailed.  Since we are having a St. Patrick’s Day party next weekend (there will be more recipes on the way for that!), I decided it might be fun to attempt to make macarons myself, but after seeing a great baker like Amy having a battle with the recipe, I knew a test run was very necessary.

Originally, I thought ‘they only have four ingredients, they can’t be that complicated, right?’. Riiiiight. HA.

I used Tartelette’sDemystifying Macarons‘ that Amy had shown me for guidance. When I first saw it I laughed and thought ‘there is no way someone can write that much about a cookie…’, now I wish there was more!

I used Tartelette’s Basic French Meringue Macaron Recipe. And the results were rather interesting.

Basic French Meringue Macaron

  • 100 grams egg whites (preferably aged overnight in the fridge or on your countertop if the kitchen is relatively cool)
  • 25 grams granulated sugar
  • 200 grams powdered sugar
  • 110 grams almonds

I meant to add green food coloring to making them more appropriate for St. Patrick’s Day, but completely forgot until I was already piping them. A couple did get some sprinkles thrown on in a feeble attempt to make up for the distinct lack of green.

 

When I took them out of the oven, they looked vaguely macaron-ish. I was fairly impressed for my first attempt. They had the elusive ‘feet’, even if they were more side feet than standing feet, but they didn’t look as bad as I expected them to.

 

I let them cool and as I popped on off the baking sheet only half the cookie came up… They were under baked! I’m thinking that I might have piped mine bigger than the suggested size and they could have used a few more minutes in the oven. Such a disappointment.

I have turned my initial macaron defeat, into a macaron challenge! I’m going to give them one more shot before the party on Saturday and here’s hoping they turn out.
Any macaron experts out there have some words of wisdom to share?

Leave a Reply

