The Elusive Hummus: Caramelized Onion Hummus

So a couple years ago when I was a broke graduate student living in London, I became quite an avid fan of Tesco’s 99p hummus. Hummus and a bag of baby carrots and you are set for lunch or a snack anytime of day. Tesco had several different flavors of hummus, all of which were good, but some were just so much better than the others. The jalapeno hummus would do in a pinch, but when they had the caramelized onion hummus in, I would basically buy every container I could carry. It became apparent that I was not the only one who felt this way about the caramelized onion hummus because it was almost always sold out.

I remember my last night in London walking back to my flat with a group of friends after some farewell drinks and stopping by Tesco for some last minute packing sustenance and the only think I wanted was caramelized onion hummus, but tragically it was sold out. On all my subsquent trips to London I’ve always forced who ever I was with to make a pit stop at the first Tesco we see in search of the hummus that escaped me. Every attempt has left me empty handed. My last trip to London I resigned myself to the fact that I would never experience the deliciousness of caramelized onion hummus again… It was a sad day.

Then one evening I was at a movie night at my friends, Sam and Amy’s, and they made a delicious roasted garlic hummus. I’ve made their recipe a couple times with roasted garlic but then I got the genius idea of substituting caramelized onions for the roasted garlic. Groundbreaking, I know. I then set about attempting to recreate the elusive caramelized onion hummus.

Caramelized Onion Hummus

  • 2 large onions (I used 5 small-ish ones)
  • 4 Tbsp. Olive Oil (for caramelizing)
  • 2 cans Chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 2-6 Tbsp. Lemon Juice (I squeezed 2 whole lemons in, but I like mine to be a little tangy)
  • 2 Tbsp. Tahini
  • 2-3 Garlic cloves, peeled and minced (I used 6)
  • 1/4 C. Olive Oil (or more to reach a smoother consistency)
  • 1 generous pinch of Sea Salt
  1. Heat 4 Tbsp. of olive oil over medium high heat. Slice onions. Let satuee for 10 minutes. Sprinkle with salt. Stir. Let continue to caramelizing until a rich, brown color. For a really good tutorial on how to caramelize onions, check out this one on Simply Recipes.
  2. When the onions are finally caramelized, combine with chickpeas, lemon juice, tahini, garlic, olive oil and salt in a food processor and blend until you get the consistency you want. Add extra olive oil or lemon juice, if you want a smoother hummus.
  3. Serve and enjoy!

Caramelized Onion Hummus

Now I’m off to hang out on the patio with the pups, do some reading and enjoy some hummus!

Bella

Izzy

7 thoughts on “The Elusive Hummus: Caramelized Onion Hummus

  1. Mmm! I was in London last month and after a night of trivia at a pub, my friend and I devoured the caramelized onion hummus from Tescos. It was HEAVENLY! I just remembered it right now and wanted to look up a recipe – I can’t wait to get back to the US and make it!

  2. I LOVE LOVE LOVE Tesco’s Caramelized Onion Hummus!!! Aww I miss the good times back in London. I cannot wait to make your recipe!

  3. Pingback: Smoky Pumpkin Hummus | Clare Cooks!

  4. I am a graduate student studying in London now, and I just discovered this incredible hummus at Tesco! It is shockingly delicious – so much that I decided to google it, and I found you! This will be the first thing I attempt to replicate when I return to the states – awesome recipe (:

  5. I was addicted to this humous when I lived in Bristol a few years ago. We went back to the UK for Christmas and the first things I looked for was Tesco’s Carmelised Onion Houmous and a good West Country cider! I found both and had a very nice evening meal! I went through a few containers of it the week we were there and I brought back the cardboard outer packaging as it had the ingredient list. The only ingredient you’re missing is the balsamic vinegar. Yours is the first recipe I’ve found that is close to the Tesco version and I plan to use yours and add a little balsamic vinegar to the mix. I realized that I wasn’t the only one addicted to this stuff as it was so often sold out while I lived in the UK but its nice to see others trying to recreate it elsewhere. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

