Jersday Polenta Pizza

Jersday is probably my favorite day of the week. In honor of my favorite day, I decided to make something vaguely Italian, just like the cast of Jersey Shore.

Tonight pizza sounded good, but the whole yeast, dough rising thing just seemed like too much work. I thought that polenta might make a comparable crust, so we headed to the kitchen to experiment.

Polenta Pizza Crust

  • 1 cup Polenta/Cornmeal
  • 4 cups water
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 cup parmesan (the grated/powdery kind, I used the parm pecarino blend from Trader Joe’s)

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. I prepared it like normal polenta. Boil salted water on medium high heat, stir in polenta, stir constantly so there are no lumps, let ‘cook’ on low for about 15 minutes, removed from heat, stir in parm. At this point I split the polenta between 2 parchment lined pie dishes and baked in the oven for 12 minutes. I then removed the crust from the pie dishes, keeping it on the parchment and put them on cookie sheets. I put the cookie sheets back in the oven for about another 15 minutes in the hopes of ‘crisping’ up the crust

Once the crust was a little harder, I added the toppings. Tomato sauce, mozzarella, fresh tomatoes and some kalamatas went on one and the other one had caramelized onions, gorgonzola, toasted hazelnuts and sliced pears.

For some reason the tomato based one held together a bit better. Over all the crust was pretty good, but nothing super special. I think this recipe is going to require a little more tweaking to get the consistency I want.

Does anyone have any polenta crust recipes or any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

