Thirsty Thursday: Hot Toddy

Hot toddy.

 

Excuse the rough iPhone shot, but we’ve been slightly under the weather in these parts. Luckily this is the cure to all that ails you!

I first learned about the wondrous medicinal properties of the hot toddy a few years ago when I was living in Budapest. I was a bit sick and whining to my dear to my dear mother over Skype about it. She, like any good and loving Irish mother, recommended whiskey. I believe the logic behind the combination is something like vitamin C for health, honey to soothe, alcohol to numb. Actual benefits or not, it works for me. This is the perfect cocktail for cold and flu season. Even if you aren’t feeling sick, it is still a warming and delicious drink.

Hot Toddy

  • 1.5 ounces (Irish) whiskey
  • 1 Tablespoon honey
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • juice of 1/2 orange
  • 1 pinch ground nutmeg
  • 4 or 5 whole cloves
  • 1 cinnamon stick (I leave this out. I hate cinnamon.)
  • hot water

Pour the honey, boiling water, and whiskey into a mug. Spice it with the cloves and cinnamon, and put in the slice of lemon. Let the mixture stand for 5 minutes so the flavors can mingle, then sprinkle with a pinch of nutmeg before serving.

4 thoughts on “Thirsty Thursday: Hot Toddy

  1. Does it taste good or do you need a stuffy nose so you won’t taste it? I am asking because I have always wanted to try it but I don’t see anyone ever drinking it?

  2. Looks good! My husband always has Irish Whiskey around, that is, if he hasn’t finished the bottle, lol. I have everything for this recipe, so I am going to try this sometime this week :)

Leave a Reply

