Roasted Broccoli & Brussels Sprout Caesar Salad

Roasted Broccoli & Brussels Sprout Caesar Salad

I went up to San Francisco over New Year’s to visit a few of my best friends. It was grand. One of the days, Nancy and I wandered down to the Ferry Building, which is one of my favorite places in SF. We grabbed a delicious lunch at Il Cane Rosso. We both had an amazing butternut squash soup. I also had an amazing caesar salad. Everything about the salad was perfect and to top it off there was roasted broccoli! I love caesar salad and I love roasted broccoli, so it was basically a match made in heaven. I was a little disappointed I hadn’t thought of the combination myself! This is my attempt to recreate that delicious dish. As I was grabbing the broccoli out of the fridge, I happened to spot some b. sprouts in there as well. It seemed rude not to use them, so I added them in as well. The flavors of the roasted vegetables go surprisingly well with the tangy dressing. I think the combination really brings out the best of both flavors.

Roasted Broccoli & Brussels Sprout Caesar Salad

Roasted Broccoli & Brussels Sprout Caesar Salad

For the Roasted Vegetables

  • 2 medium heads broccoli, cut into bite sized pieces
  • 1/2 pound brussels sprouts, trimmed and halved
  • olive oil
  • Kosher salt, freshly ground pepper, garlic powder, to taste
For the Salad
  • 1 head Romaine lettuce, chopped
  • 5 green onions, sliced
  • Roasted vegetables
  • Your favorite Caesar dressing (I recommend this one.)
  • Kosher salt, freshly ground pepper, to taste
  • Parmesan Cheese, grated

For the Roasted Vegetables:

  1. Heat oven to 400. In a medium bowl or large plastic bag, toss broccoli and brussels sprouts with the olive oil and Kosher salt, freshly ground pepper, garlic powder, to taste.
  2. Put vegetables on rimmed baking dish and roast for 10 minutes. Remove from oven, stir vegetables and return to over for another 5 to 10 minutes, or until golden brown and crispy.
  3. Remove from baking sheet and place on a towel lined plate to drain the excess oil (you don’t want it in the salad).
For the Salad:
  1. In a large bowl, toss the lettuce, green onions, and dressing. Divide between four bowls. Top with roasted vegetables. Sprinkle each bowl with parmesan cheese and serve.

2 thoughts on “Roasted Broccoli & Brussels Sprout Caesar Salad

Leave a Reply

