Chicken Spinach & Cauliflower Cheese Pots

Chicken Spinach & Cauliflower Cheese Pots

This is pretty much Chicken Alfredo without any noodles involved. I’m not a pasta fan, so it was pretty much perfect to me. I was a bit hesitant to use evaporated milk. I know it’s real milk with some of the water removed, but shelf stable dairy products just weird me out. Once I got over the canned milk thing, I was really, really impressed by this dish. It was so easy to make and super flavorful. I did add some extra spices by sprinkling the chicken with Kosher salt, black pepper and garlic powder. That definitely helped the dish. Next time, I think the only other thing I would add would be some Dijon mustard. I really think that would have enhanced the flavor even more. And I might add broccoli as well just to add some extra color and vegetables. The spinach was really good in this dish. I thought it might be kind of gross since it was added at the last-minute before baking. This recipe is great as is, but a few easy additions

A quick note about serving: I think it would be easier to do this in one large casserole dish or in 1 cup ramekins. I followed the directions and a 2 cup serving dish was the size of a cereal bowl, which is a lot of food. I think a 1 cup ramekin would be the perfect size accompanied with some extra veggies or a salad.

Chicken Spinach & Cauliflower Cheese Pots

 

Chicken Spinach & Cauliflower Cheese Pots
Adapted from Taste.Com.Au.

  • 1 small (800g) cauliflower, cut into florets
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1 pound/500g boneless, skinless chicken breast, diced
  • Kosher salt, black pepper, garlic powder, for seasoning
  • 3 Tablespoons/40g butter
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour (I used Better Batter.)
  • 1 cup low-sodium chicken stock
  • 375ml can evaporated milk
  • 3 ounces/80g baby spinach
  • 1/3 cup grated tasty cheese (I used a sharp English Cheddar)
  1. Preheat oven to 400°F/200°C/180°C fan-forced. Steam over or cook cauliflower in a saucepan of boiling water for 5 minutes or until just tender. Drain.
  2. Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Season diced chicken breast with Kosher salt, black pepper and garlic powder. Add the chicken. Cook, stirring, for 5 minutes or until browned. Transfer to a bowl. Cover to keep warm.
  3. Add butter to pan. Cook for 1 minute or until melted and bubbling. Add flour. Cook, stirring, for 1 minute or until bubbling. Gradually add stock, stirring until smooth. Bring to the boil. Reduce heat to low. Add milk. Simmer for 3 to 5 minutes or until thickened. Remove from heat. Stir in chicken, cauliflower, spinach and 2 tablespoons tasty cheese. Season with salt and pepper.
  4. Spoon mixture into four 2 cup-capacity ovenproof dishes. Sprinkle with remaining cheese. Season with salt and pepper. Bake for 20 minutes or until golden. Serve.

4 thoughts on “Chicken Spinach & Cauliflower Cheese Pots

    • No, not at all. I thought the same thing as well, but I was getting sweetened condensed milk confused with evaporated milk. Sweetened condensed milk is a sugary, goopy mess. Evaporated milk is just regular milk that is concentrated. You could actually make it yourself by boiling down milk, kind of like you would with stock or a gravy.

Leave a Reply

