Flattened Chicken with Tomatoes, Olives & Capers

Flattened chicken with tomatoes, olives & capers

This has quickly become one of my go to recipes. I’ve made it several times now and I like it more and more every time. Then again, you could add tomatoes, olives and capers to pretty much anything and I would find it delicious, so I might be a bit biased.

It’s perfect for a quick and easy dinner (like 15 minutes and it’s ready, easy). I’ve made it both with canned diced tomatoes and fresh tomatoes and I hate to say it, but I might have liked the canned tomatoes more… The fresh tomatoes did not break down as well and the skins were kind of tough. I also found that I had to add a little more liquid to get a sauce going with the fresh tomatoes. I am a very saucy person, so when a dish has a sauce, I like a lot of it. If you happen to have super ripe and juicy fresh tomatoes, I wouldn’t worry about it, but if your tomatoes are kind of under ripe and sad, canned would probably be your best bet.

Flattened chicken with tomatoes, olives & capers

Flattened Chicken with Tomatoes, Olives & Capers
Adapted fromĀ BBC Good Food.

  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breast
  • 1/2 cup seasoned flour (I used garlic powder, paprika and black pepper to season)
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 Tablespoon unsalted butter
  • 1 large ripe tomato, chopped or 1/2-15 ounce can diced tomatoes, drained.
  • 2 Tablespoons capers
  • large handful Kalamata olives, chopped
  • splash white wine/dry vermouth or broth
  1. Place the chicken breast on to a flat surface and cover with plastic wrap. Bash with a rolling pin or mallet to flatten, then lightly coat in the seasoned flour. Heat the oil and butter in a pan, add the chicken and cook for 3-4 mins on each side until crisp, browned and cooked through. Remove from the pan and keep warm.
  2. Add the tomato, capers, olives and wine to the pan, season to taste, then bring to the boil. Bubble the sauce for 2-3 mins until the tomatoes are starting to break down, then spoon over the chicken.

3 thoughts on “Flattened Chicken with Tomatoes, Olives & Capers

Leave a Reply

