Avocado, Blue Cheese & Spinach Salad

DSC_0065

This basically a no-recipe recipe. I happened to have some items around that were begging to be used together, so I gave them what they wanted. I just threw them all together with no real rhyme or reason and luckily this little salad turned out to be a delightful surprise. The creamy avocado and tangy blue cheese go really well together. Much better than I thought they would. I’ve been really into using toasted nuts lately in anything and everything possible. I think they make a great alternative to croutons to give salads a little crunchy bite. This salad came together in under 10 minutes and made a refreshing and tasty summer meal. If my avocados happen to be around along enough to be used in salads (let’s be honest guacamole takes priority here), I look forward to make this one again and again this summer.

DSC_0072

Avocado, Blue Cheese & Spinach Salad

  • 2 large handfuls spinach
  • 1 avocado, pitted and diced
  • 1/2 onion, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup blue cheese, crumbled
  • 1/4 slivered almonds, toasted
  • mustard vinaigrette, recipe follows
  1. Divide first 5 ingredients between two plates. Top with vinaigrette and serve.

Mustard Vinaigrette

  • 2 Tablespoons Dijon mustard
  • 3 Tablespoons white wine vinegar
  • 2 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 Tablespoon honey
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste
  1. Combine all ingredients together and mix until well incorporated. Will keep in the fridge up to one week.

3 thoughts on “Avocado, Blue Cheese & Spinach Salad

    • Roasted garlic would be delicious in the dressing. This is my basic, go to viniagrette. I usually add garlic to it, but I had just run out! It was a highly unusual day.

  1. When it comes to recipes and cooking there is no end to surprises. Trust me Clare, avocados and cheese always have that attractiveness not only on the eyes but also on the mouth. Good thing you tried it.
    There is much to be discovered with cooking. I really love greens and your recipe is filled with greens for the picking. I have a soft spot for avos you know. Keep posting!

    Make sure you check out these mouth watering recipes from SAAGA which is an Avocado Association. Free recipes on pdf file format, hundreds of them. Avocados, Avocado, Avo

    Love The Quality Pictures!

Leave a Reply

