World Famous Cornbread Stuffing (Gluten Free)

 

So, I have been seriously slacking on blogging as of late. Things around here have been a bit crazy and something had to give. But now I’m back to share one of my favorite things in the whole world; my cornbread stuffing!

 

Stuffing is so easy to make, I really don’t know why people used the boxed stuff. I came up with this recipe many, many years ago, and it has become one of the few tried and true essentials of every Thanksgiving feast I make. It has been made at Thanksgivings in 4 countries and has been a hit in all of them, hence the ‘world famous’ title. I must note though, I found it very interesting that a lot of the non-Americans/Canadians that have tried this were not a fan of the dried cranberries because they were too sweet, but also thought the actual cranberry sauce was too tart.

 

Now, a quick comment on the cornbread, I’ve made it with gluten-free cornbread mix, Jiffy cornbread mix, and cornbread made from scratch. I always make the cornbread the same day I make the stuffing. I just wait until it cools enough to handle, and break it into pieces in a large bowl, let it cool completely and then start making the stuffing; turns out perfectly every time. Since this is a recipe I made up long, long ago, there aren’t really exact measurements, and it kinda, sorta slightly changes from year to year according to taste, but it is always delicious and it is always a big hit.

Cornbread Stuffing

  • 1 package of cornbread mix (I used Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Cornbread)
  • 1 onion, diced
  • Dill
  • Garlic powder
  • 2-4 tablespoons butter + more for greasing.
  • Dried cranberries (I like Trader Joe’s Orange Flavored Dried Cranberries)
  • Low sodium vegetable broth
  • Dry white wine (optional)
  1. Make cornbread according to directions on the package. Let cool slightly until cool enough to handle and crumble into pieces in a very large bowl and allow to cool completely.
  2. When bread is cool, melt 2 tablespoons of butter over medium-high heat. When hot add onions. When softened, about 5-7 minutes, add garlic powder and dill, stir to coat. Remove pan from heat and add onion mixture to cornbread.
  3. Heat oven to 350 and grease a large baking dish with remaining butter, make sure it’s really well greased.
  4. Add desired amount of dried cranberries to cornbread (I generally do a good handful). Then add a bit of broth to the cornbread (start with about 1/2 cup and work up) and a dash of white wine for extra flavor (I just use the same wine I’m using to baste the turkey). Mix the ingredients together until slightly damp.
  5. Place cornbread in the greased baking dish and bake 25-35 minutes, until the top starts to turn golden.

6 thoughts on “World Famous Cornbread Stuffing (Gluten Free)

  1. Pingback: Last Minute Thanksgiving Recipes! | Clare Cooks!

  2. Pingback: Sunday Summary: November 27, 2011 | Clare Cooks!

  3. The recipe sounds great and I’d like to try it. But, I would like to stuff the turkey with the cornbread stuffing. Has anyone done this and at what point do you stuff it?
    I’m thinking I would make the cornbread today and tomorrow mix the other ingredients, stuff the turkey and cook it similar to making traditional bread stuffing.
    Your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

