Chocolate Chocolate Chocolate Cheesecake (Gluten Free!)

Today is my birthday! This is my all-time favorite dessert.

Now, I’ll let you all in on a little secret. I am not really a fan of chocolate, or of dessert in general, except when it comes to this cheesecake. I love this cheesecake. Mama CC has made it for my birthday every year we have been in the same country since I was in middle school. I have been very wary of sharing the recipe and have only made it for a few select people in the past. I don’t want anyone else messing with my favorite dessert. But honestly, it’s just too good not to share. It’s ridiculously rich. This is probably the richest cheesecake you will ever try. That is why I tried to make mini cheesecakes of it. I thought it would help stagger the richness of the cheesecake. You really can’t have more than a sliver of it at a time. So mini cheesecakes seemed like a natural solution. Mini cheesecakes were brilliant in their inception, but not so much in their execution. They were just way too much work. But they did benefit from the smaller portion; you really only need two or three bites to be satisfied.

Chocolate Chocolate Chocolate Cheesecake
Yields 1-9 inch cheesecake

Chocolate Graham Crust: 

In medium bowl, stir together crumbs, sugar, cocoa and butter.  Mix well.  Press into bottom and halfway up side of a 9-inch springform pan. 

Cheesecake:

  • Chocolate Graham Crust
  • 2 packages (8 ounces each) of cream cheese, softened
  • 3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar, divided
  • 1/2 cup good cocoa powder
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract, divided
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
  • 1 cup (8 ounces) sour cream
  1. Prepare Graham Crust.  Heat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. In large mixing bowl, with an electric mixer on medium speed, beat cream cheese, 3/4 cup sugar, cocoa and 1 teaspoon vanilla until smooth.  Add eggs, beat until blended.  Stir in chocolate chips.  Pour into prepared crust.
  3. Bake 20 minutes.  Remove from oven to wire rack, cool 15 minutes.  Increase over temperature to 425 degrees.
  4. In a small bowl stir together sour cream, remaining 2 tablespoons sugar and remaining 1 tablespoon vanilla, mix until smooth.  Spread over  baked filling.  Bake for 10 minutes.
  5. Remove from oven to wire rack.  With a knife immediately loosen case from side of pan.  Cool completely; remove from pan.  Refrigerate several hours or overnight until completely cold.  Serves 10 – 12!

8 thoughts on “Chocolate Chocolate Chocolate Cheesecake (Gluten Free!)

  1. I made this this week-i didn’y have graham crackers but found diet biscuits (which i thought were gluton free-woops!) for the base. anyhow-it was amazing! sttill is-been having slizzers for my breakfast..naughty!

  2. This sounds like a lovely recipe that I would like to make for Celiac sister n law for Christmas.
    What size pan would I use if I were to make a regular cheesecake vs mini?
    Thank you,
    Lisa

    • Great question! Sorry I didn’t include that information. The original recipe was made in a 9 inch springform pan. I would recommend that size. Bake 20 minutes. Remove from oven to wire rack, cool 15 minutes. Increase over temperature to 425 degrees. Add the sour cream topping and back for 10 more minutes.

      Hope that helps :)

    • Yes! You can definitely freeze cheesecake to serve later. Once the cheesecake has cooled, remove the sides of the springform pan, leaving the metal bottom on. Then wrap the cheesecake in several (4+) layers of plastic wrap and finally wrap the whole thing in aluminum foil. It will keep in the freezer for about a month.

      When you are ready serve, defrost the cheesecake in the fridge overnight. I would put it in the fridge at least 12 hours before you want to serve it. A whole cheesecake could take up to 24 hours to defrost depending on size and fridge temperature. When defrosted, remove the bottom of the springform pan and place on your serving plate.

      I hope you enjoy the cheesecake and have a great party!

  3. Hi I hope you get this in time to answer me back! I made this and let me tell you, it was amazing!!!!! I made it in the 9″ springform, but I found it to be a little flat… So obviously I could just double the ingredients and it will be fuller (which now i’m thinking is a good idea!) or, I can make the mini ones (b/c it’s for mother’s day tomorrow). But when you made your minis what did you cook them in? Can you make them in ramekins? Or do I need mini springform pans? And if I double the ingredients, any idea on what to do with the cooking time???
    Also – just an FYI – the supermarket i went to didn’t have gf graham crackers in stock – but Pamela’s makes an awesome chocolate cookie – and I just crumbled that up – delish!!!!! If you could answer me back I’d so appreciate it as that cheesecake has to be made tonight :) Thank you !!!

    • Hi Lilli! I’m so glad you liked the cheesecake. It’s one of my favorites.

      I did cut the filling ingredients by 1/3 to make the mini ones. If you add back the 1/3 them, it should be perfect for a 9 inch springform. I would start by adding on 5-10 minutes to the original 20 minute cooking time (depends on your oven). I wouldn’t change the cooking time with the sour cream topping. It can burn and get a bit funky if you go longer than 10-15 minutes.

      I used a mini springform like this one: http://www.amazon.com/Norpro-3919-Mini-Cheesecake-Pan/dp/B0006IW02M

      Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

