Paprikás Csirke or Chicken Paprikash (Gluten Free)

I was feeling a tad homesick for Budapest over the weekend, so I decided to try my hand at some Hungarian comfort food. Chicken Paprikash (SO painful to spell that way) is probably the best known Hungarian dish outside of Hungary. The Hungarian pronunciation of the dish is pah-pree-kahash cheer-ke or something like that.

I have somehow managed to end up with 6 (SIX!?) Hungarian cookbooks over the years. Some were gifts, some were brought back from Bp., some were found in thrift stores. I decided to consult all of them on my Csirke Paprikás and despite all claiming to be very authentic and authoritative on Hungarian cuisine, not one of them agreed. There are probably as many versions of the recipe as there are cooks in Hungary, so I kind of just picked the bits and pieces that I thought sounded good. It turned out to be delicious.

I used boneless, skinless chicken breast, but bone-in, skin on seems to be the most common. I also used both smoked paprika and hot paprika. Like a lot of it. I would say close to 1/4 cup total, if not a bit more. More is better in this case. I also used a lot of onion but chopped it up, super fine. I was kind of proud of myself for how small I was able to get it. Also, this recipe yields a lot of sauce. I’m a saucy person, so I think a lot of sauce is a wonderful thing.

Chicken Paprikash

  • Olive oil
  • 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 onion, diced super small
  • Hot Hungarian paprika
  • Smoked Hungarian paprika
  • Kosher salt and black pepper
  • 5 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 cups low-sodium vegetable or chicken broth
  • 2 cups dry white wine (1 for the cook, 1 for the chicken)
  • 1 1/2 cups warm water with bullion cube dissolved in it
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • Cornstarch, flour, some kind of thickening agent
  1. Wash and prepare chicken. Cut into bite sized pieces and sprinkle with kosher salt, black pepper and some paprika before browning. In a large skillet, heat olive oil over medium heat. Add chicken to skillet and cook until outside is browned. Remove chicken to a side plate.
  2. Add onion to skillet and cook until tender, but not quite yet browned. Add garlic and paprika. Return chicken to skillet and toss to coat. Add wine, broth and bullion water. Bring to a boil; reduce heat, cover and simmer for 40 minutes or until chicken is fully cooked and tender. Remove chicken and keep warm.
  3. Boil sauce until reduced to 1/2 cup liquid, about 3 minutes. Stir in 1/2 cup sour cream.  Add cornstarch or flour to thicken sauce if needed. Add chicken back in. Heat through.
  4. Serve with side of nokedli/spatzle, pasta, potatoes or by itself.

3 thoughts on “Paprikás Csirke or Chicken Paprikash (Gluten Free)

  1. Pingback: Sunday Summary: October 2, 2011 | Clare Cooks!

Leave a Reply

