Jamie Oliver’s Chicken & Leek Stroganoff

This is one of the best meals I’ve had recently. Seriously. So delicious, so simple. I think this one will be entering the rotation of go to meals. The chicken, leeks and mushrooms all go together so well and the lemon and wine in the sauce really make the flavor just out of this world. And the best part of all, the whole meal took less than 20 minutes to make!

The recipe is from Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution cookbook, which I have gone on and on about, but with good reason. It has yet to let me down. Every recipe I’ve tried has been great and this was has definitely been the best yet.

The original recipe suggests serving it over rice. I served it without, and I really think the rice would have weighed the dish down and distracted from the flavors of the dish. I think if you were looking for a hearty meal that the rice or even some potatoes would make a great accompaniment, but I thought it was perfect without either.

The only thing to note about this recipe would be the leeks. Make sure you wash them! Well! Leeks are grown in really sandy soil and can be super sandy, which would be gross in food. Rinsing them isn’t super difficult or anything, it’s just important to make sure it’s done throughly. Check out this website if you have never cooked with leeks before for a walk through on rinsing them.

Chicken & Leek Stroganoff (19 min. Serves 2)
(from Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution, p. 34)

  • Sea Salt
  • 3/4 cup long-grain or basmati rice (or instant if you are in a hurry)
  • 1 large leek
  • A big handful of crimini or oyster mushrooms (I used regular white ones)
  • 2 chicken breast fillets
  • Olive oil
  • A pat of butter
  • 2 glasses of white wine (1 for you, 1 for the dish)
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • A bunch of fresh parsley
  • 1 1/4 cups heavy cream
  • 1 lemon
  1. Pour boiling water from the kettle into a large pan, place on a high heat and add a pinch of salt. Add your rice and bring to a boil, then turn the heat down slightly. Cook according to instructions on package.
  2. Cut both ends of the leek, quarter lengthways, slice across thinly, then wash under running water. Slice the mushrooms. Slice the chicken breasts into finger-size pieces.
  3. Put a large frying pan on high heat and add a good lug of olive oil and a pat of butter. Add the leek to the pan with the white wine, a small glass of water, and a good pinch of salt and pepper. Let it bubble away for 5 minutes covered loosely with a piece of aluminum foil. Meanwhile, finely chop the parsley.
  4. Remove the foil and then add the chicken strips, most of the parsley, the cream, and the mushrooms. Stir, bring back to a boil, then turn the heat down to medium and simmer for 10 minutes.
  5. Drain your rice. Just before serving cut your lemon in half and squeeze the juice of one half into the stroganoff. Season to taste.
  6. Spoon some rice onto each plate and top with the stroganoff. Sprinkle with the remaining parsley. Serve with the other lemon half, cut into wedges.

12 thoughts on “Jamie Oliver’s Chicken & Leek Stroganoff

  1. Oh yum! My best friend in London keeps raving on to me about this recipe and I haven´t tried it yet as we don´t have leeks at the moment in Andalucia. As soon as we do I think I´ll have to give it a go!

  2. Jamie Oliver’s recipes always make my mouth water. I have his 20 minute meals app on my iPhone and need to start cooking my way through them. Everything is so rustic looking.

  3. Your photos me this dish look so yummy! I’ve cooked chicken and leek pies before but I’m with you on the fact that sometimes the extra rice / pastry can make the dish more heavy. With warmer weather here I’m actually omitting the extra carbs from many of my dinners. And good on you for supporting Jamie’s cause – it is awesome!

  4. Pingback: Sunday Summary: September 25, 2011 | Clare Cooks!

Leave a Reply

