Gluten Free Maryland Crab Cakes

 

This post could also be titled ‘Anaphylaxis: Fun to Say, but Really Not Fun at All’ or ‘Why I Will Never be Going to Maryland Ever Again’.

Why you ask?

Well, apparently, I’m allergic to crab. Like really allergic. I have definitely had crab in the past with no problem, but somewhere in my recent spout of health issues, I was told that I was vaguely allergic to a lot of things that I still eat on a fairly regular basis with varying effects (I’m looking at you casein, yeast and eggs!), but none so bad to make me stop eating them. My doctor said that since I had never experienced anaphylaxis, there was no need to do further food allergy testing despite my continued sickness. Well, I proved her wrong. I really don’t like her, so in between the swollen eyes, swollen throat, throwing up, and itchy everything, I took some solace in that fact that I was right and she was wrong.

This is also why things have been a bit slow around the blog… The crab incident happened on Thursday, it’s now Saturday. I’ve only been able to hold down saltines and gatorade for the last day. My eyes are still swollen and I am still itchy. I hate crab.

No wonder Ariel wanted to get away from you...Source

If you aren’t allergic to crab, you should definitely make these though. They were quite tasty.

Gluten Free Maryland Crab Cakes (recipe adapted from the side of package)

  • 16 oz. of lump crab meat, picked through
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • 2 Tablespoons mayonnaise
  • 2 teaspoons Worcestershire Sauce
  • 1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1/4 teaspoon hot sauce
  • Vegetable Oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon dry mustard
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground red pepper
  • 1/2 Tablespoon Seafood Seasoning
  • 1/3 cup diced red onion
  • 1/2 cup unseasoned bread crumbs (I used Kinnikinnick Panko Style Crumbs)
In medium bowl, combine all ingredients except crabmeat and oil; blend well. Gently fold in crabmeat; avoid breaking lumps of crabmeat. I used my hands to shape palm sized crab cakes, which made about 10.5 crab cakes. Add enough oil to cover the bottom of a large skillet. Heat oil over medium-high heat until hot. Gently add the crab cakes; fry each side until deep golden brown (about 4 to 5 minutes per side). Drain on paper towels. Serve immediately.
Garlic Caper Aioli 
  • 1 cup high quality or homemade mayonnaise
  • 2 tablespoons chopped capers, drained
  • 1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lemon juice, plus more to taste (from 1 lemon)
  • 2 medium clove garlic, minced and smashed to a paste
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon coarsely ground black pepper
  • a few dashes of hot sauce (optional)
Combine the mayonnaise, capers, lemon juice, garlic, salt and black pepper. Taste and adjust the amount of lemon juice, salt or pepper as needed. Add hot sauce if desired.

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free Maryland Crab Cakes

  1. Pingback: Sunday Summary: September 18, 2011 | Clare Cooks!

  2. Pingback: Sunday Summary: September 25, 2011 | Clare Cooks!

Leave a Reply

