Peanut Butter Carrot ‘Pup’Cakes

So, this week we had a very momentous occasion to celebrate, my darling pups turned 10!

Naturally, we needed to have a party. Yeah, I’m that girl. Deal with it.

I spent about 8 minutes attempting to take a picture of the two of them looking cute in their party hats, but homegirls had other ideas. After much bribery and coercing and cursing on my part, we all just decided to call it quits. As you can tell by the look of sheer terror on Bella’s face, she still hasn’t quite forgiven me for putting her through the indignity of it all. She was so pissed she wouldn’t even play with her new toy… which her brat of a sister stole approximately 2 seconds later.

The real excitement came when the cake came out. Peanut Butter and Carrot Pupcakes! They were a smashing success. These are human grade dog treats and my dogs absolutely love them.

For the ‘frosting’ I whipped up some plain cream cheese to make it easier to spread and added a few carob chips, which are 100% dog safe. 

Peanut Butter Carrot ‘Pup’Cakes (adapted from this recipe)

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup shredded carrots
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1 egg
  1. Preheat oven to 350. In a large bowl mix flour and baking soda. Then add remaining ingredients and mix to combine.
  2. Pour into greased 8″ round cake pan or into muffin tin prepared with liners. For round cake pan, bake 30 minutes. For pupcakes, bake 15-20 minutes
  3. Let cool. Serve and let your pup enjoy!
The pupcakes can be served as is, or topped with ‘frosting’. I would recommend either more peanut butter (which is sometimes too ‘sticky’ for dogs to eat) or cream cheese and add on some more carrot shreds or carob chips.

4 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Carrot ‘Pup’Cakes

  1. Love this! My girl pepper turns two tomorrow and I made a cake from a similar receipe last year! The dogs loved it!! I am trying one with a little banana this year! You puppies are adorable!

  2. P.S. I have also had food allergies, and am doing a test by cutting out gluten, its been two months and so far I am all better! I just discovered your site and you are A MAZE ING! Thanks for sharing your receipes with us all!

Leave a Reply

