Review: Betty Crocker Gluten-Free Cake Mix & Some Gluten-Free Pineapple Upside Down Cake!

It seems to be birthday season in these parts. I really had no clue I knew so many people born in April and May until I had to figure out presents for all of them. Since I am currently a poor, I decided the most economical of things to do would be baking their gifts.

One of these birthday dinners required a gluten-free dessert. Since the dinner was a last minute, impromptu kind of thing, I had to resort to boxed cake mix! The shame… Luckily, I’d been wanting to test out the Gluten-Free Betty Crocker Cake Mix I had bought a couple weeks ago. The gluten-free cake mix is definitely more expensive than the regular line of Betty Crocker mixes (and it’s never gone on sale at any of my local grocery stores), but still cheaper than a lot of the ‘specialty’ gluten-free brands.

Overall, I must say I was very pleasantly surprised with how the cake turned out. Granted it’s been a while since I’ve had cake, gluten-free or otherwise, but this cake turned out much better than I imagined. Most gluten-free baked goods I’ve encountered have been very dense and very dry. This cake was very light, fluffy and moist. It was just like a regular/non-gf cake.

I followed the directions for the cake that were on the box but for the bottom/top of the Pineapple Upside Down Cake, I followed the topping recipe from Smitten Kitchen with the addition of some maraschino cherries and poured the cake batter on that. There is a recipe on the Betty Crocker website for the cake as well, but I’m not the biggest fan of corn syrup, so Deb’s butter and brown sugar substitue worked better for me.

One thought on “Review: Betty Crocker Gluten-Free Cake Mix & Some Gluten-Free Pineapple Upside Down Cake!

Leave a Reply

